The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:29 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
I re-installed all of my A2A aircraft after you updated the P-40 to take care of the ruddertrim problem, but now I have no more engine sound in the cockpitview. I do hear the wheels and some rattles, but no engine.
This could be due to the way it is installed of course. I run P3Dv4.3, and by default you want to install it on C: in a in my mind weird location. Since my C: drive is quite small, I have all my sim-objects and scenery folders on D:, and I asked for all A2A aircraft to be installed there. This gave me a A2A folder under simobjects, with yet another simobjects folder in there. P3D did not see that last folder, so I copied everything in the simobjects folder under A2A to my normal simobjects folder. The effects, gauges & scripts folders were copied form the A2A folder to the P3D folder. P3D now sees my A2A aircraft, but they have no engine sounds in the cockpit. Not just the P-40, but other A2A aircraft as well (except for the P-47 and B-17, which work just fine in P3D..).
Any suggestions what could be causing this?

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar
You'll find most of my paints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:59 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8339
Location: United Kingdom
Hello Jankees,

Yes, I suspect it's the manual copying and pasting of files and folders which is the problem here: specifically the fact that the main "A2A/P40" folder containing the Sounds.pk file can't be found in the expected location.

If you wish to install your P3D add-ons to your D: drive, I recommend you create a new folder called something along like "D:\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons" and simply point the installer to this location when installing. Manually moving files is a bit risky, and it'll tend to break any Start Menu shortcuts too.

In this case you'll need to uninstall your A2A stuff for Prepar3D beforehand, get rid of any leftover files/folders and then restart P3D once before reinstalling to allow the sim to refresh its add-ons.cfg files.

I appreciate that the installation method which Lockheed Martin recommend for P3D differs to that for FSX. However, for a platform which is being constantly updated, it does make life easier in the long run to keep add-ons outside of the main "Prepar3D v4" directory

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
OK, we have sound! Thank you!
Now back to installing my repaints....sigh

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar
You'll find most of my paints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:02 pm 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8339
Location: United Kingdom
Good stuff - thanks for the update Jankees. Having stuff installed properly to your D: drive with resorting to manually moving files should make things simpler in the long term. :)

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:25 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
AAArgh, next time I start P3D, all my A@A aircraft are gone again in the sim.
Why is it that only A2A aircraft are being so difficult? Everything else just installs into simobjects/airplanes, why not yours????
OK, I'll try one more time...

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar
You'll find most of my paints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:40 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
ok, new install, and we have a model with sound again....however, when I tried my hand at painting, I noticed something strange at the elevators:
Imagejk8116

the right elevator is mirrored to the left one!

your own textures have it too:
Imagejk8117

or is it my install again??
And is that right rudder ok?

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar
You'll find most of my paints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:41 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8339
Location: United Kingdom
Jankees,

Thanks for bringing this one to our attention. Unfortunately it looks like something got a little mixed up with the UV mapping of the empennage at some stage, but we'll issue a patch as soon as possible.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Nick

P.S.
jcblom wrote:
AAArgh, next time I start P3D, all my A@A aircraft are gone again in the sim.
Why is it that only A2A aircraft are being so difficult? Everything else just installs into simobjects/airplanes, why not yours????
As mentioned, we use Lockheed Martin's preferred installation method for P3D, as do quite a few other developers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:33 am 
Online
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28908
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Yes, our P3Dv4 products follow the Lockheed Martin guidelines for add-ons, the default is the P3Dv4 add-ons folder in your my documents. But our installers as can P3Dv4 add-ons can be installed anywhere so long as they are all together. Lockheed developer guidelines tell developers to install external so should they need to Lockheed can wipe and clean as needed for there updates without users having to reinstall add-ons every time they update P3D. It also allows more freedom in a users ability to plan and move there sim in pieces without having to reinstall everything with every change.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:45 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
I know, I know, but I've installed and re-installed everything a few times now, and where in the past all aircraft were to found in one location, now they can be found all over...
Still, the P-40 is on D: now, and it works, so let's keep our fingers crossed..

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar
You'll find most of my paints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:47 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8339
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Jankees,

We've just released a fix for the mirrored elevator texture mapping. Thanks again for pointing it out.

Incidentally, the mismatch between the camouflage patterns on the vertical stabilizer and rudder of the AVG model is intentional.

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:30 am 
Online
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28908
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
jcblom wrote:
I know, I know, but I've installed and re-installed everything a few times now, and where in the past all aircraft were to found in one location, now they can be found all over...
Still, the P-40 is on D: now, and it works, so let's keep our fingers crossed..


So long as the add-ons are native P3D and running with Lockheeds PDK you can still do this, the emphasis is just on the user now. So you can plan where you want things, for example scenery on its own drive, planes on another I know is a popular layout. All our installers allow you to install your A2A aircraft where you wish so long as all the A2A are together.

cheers,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group