Sound problem with COTS B377

A place for technical help setting up your Stratocruiser with FSX
new reply
Doug in Canada
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Apr 2018

Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Doug in Canada »

After struggling a bit with COTS B377 in Steam FSX I reinstalled them both. It's working fine now, except the sounds. I have a lot of them, but no engine sounds inside or outside the ship. Any suggestions?

alan CXA651
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2216
Joined: 15 Mar 2016

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post alan CXA651 »

Hi.
I seem to recall someone else suffering this issue in FSX Steam , cannot recall the fix , but a search on the b377 sould find the posts regarding it.
In the meantime a few things to check.
1/. is this the only aircraft suffering this issue if not check your sound settings in the sim on my FSX A its the top slider.
2/. if the B377 is the only aircraft suffing this issue , goto your FSX Steam\SimObjects\Airplanes\WoS_B377\Sound folder you sould have 65 sound files , if not its a faulty install.
regards alan. 8)
Image
Image
Image
Image

Doug in Canada
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Apr 2018

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Doug in Canada »

Thanks Alan,

No other planes are having sound issues.

Looking in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\SimObjects\Airplanes\WoS_B377\sound folder I only have two files.
Sound.cfg
WOS_B377_gear_down.wav

alan CXA651
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2216
Joined: 15 Mar 2016

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post alan CXA651 »

I never installed my FSX A into the default programes (86) as it is over protected , and could see some installs as a virus , and delete them , also now its in that area , make sure the sim is run as admin , and it sounds like a faulty instal , when you reinstal , make sure ANY anti virus is either set to ignor anything flightsim related idel or temp shut down any anti virus while the reinstal is carried out.
regards alan. 8)
P.S. make sure you delete everything to do with the B377 prior to reinstal and then run updater.
Image
Image
Image
Image

flapman
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 313
Joined: 10 Oct 2013

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post flapman »

Doug in Canada wrote:Thanks Alan,

No other planes are having sound issues.

Looking in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\SimObjects\Airplanes\WoS_B377\sound folder I only have two files.
Sound.cfg
WOS_B377_gear_down.wav
I just checked my sound file,
I have both of those 2 files... plus 63 other sound files...

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31251
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Lewis - A2A »

Hello,

which 377 packages did you install?

thanks,
Lewis
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

Doug in Canada
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Apr 2018

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Doug in Canada »

Hi Lewis.

It's the file link you sent me. Install file was called wos_b377_v2_full.exe

Doug in Canada
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Apr 2018

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Doug in Canada »

Still no luck. Waiting to hear from Lewis.

alan CXA651
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2216
Joined: 15 Mar 2016

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post alan CXA651 »

Hi.
Do you have an AV running when installing , iF so is it set to ignor anything to do with the flight sim , as this might see something during install , that it mistakes for a virus , and if so could be deleteing the sound files , as you seem to be missing most of them.
If it has fully installed , you sould have 65 sound files , from your previous post you only had two files.
Seeing as how lewis is very busy with the new store , it might be worth sending him a PM.
regards alan. 8)
Image
Image
Image
Image

Molly - A2A
A2A Major
Posts: 1177
Joined: 01 Jun 2012

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Molly - A2A »

Hi Doug,

You have to install both wos_b377.exe and wos_b377_v2_full.exe (in that order.) The 'full' in the second installer is a bit confusing because it refers to combining Accu-sim and Captain of the Ship - but it still was intended as an add-on to the base package (wos_b377.exe.) Hope this helps :)

Doug in Canada
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Apr 2018

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Doug in Canada »

Thanks Molleh,

That would explain the issue. Problem is I don't have the wos_B377.exe file.

I only have wos_B377_full.exe

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31251
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post Lewis - A2A »

Doug can you PM me your email used on the new A2A Store.

thanks,
Lewis
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

feriath359
Airman Basic
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jun 2018

Re: Sound problem with COTS B377

Post feriath359 »

Hello!
Yesterday I bought the B377 and downloaded the package and installed it. I have no engine sounds. In the sounds directories I only have two files. When we were looking at the forum, I should have two exe packages from B377. In my account in the store, I have two links to downloading but every time I only obtain B377 v2 full from each of downloads, so this is probably the mistake? Please help....

new reply

Return to “Boeing 377 Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests