Anyone else having trouble navigating purely with the RMI?

A place for technical help setting up your Stratocruiser with FSX
new reply
300Blackout-A2A
A2A Major

Anyone else having trouble navigating purely with the RMI?

Post by 300Blackout-A2A »

I'm still fairly new to flight simming and navigation, so perhaps there is something I'm not accounting for (or just plain doing wrong), but I noticed something weird tonight while attempting a cross-country flight this evening.

I decided to navigate purely by the instruments, and keep my use of the navigator panel to a minimum. However doing so kept leading way outside my flight path. Double checking with the Nav panel, it looked like the needles were consistently pointing 5-10 degrees off the true headings to the VORs (though they would correct themselves once I got very close).

I was wondering if anyone else was having troubles, or have noticed the needles not pointing directly to the VORs?

Anyway, here is a screenshot I took. Even though I'm almost directly on a straight flight path between the two VORs, the needle is pointing almost 10 degrees away.

edit: spelling mistakes. hey it was late and I was very sleepy :)
Last edited by 300Blackout-A2A on 07 Jul 2011, 08:40, edited 1 time in total.

wothan
Staff Sergeant

Re: Anyone else having trouble navigating purely with the RM

Post by wothan »

Don´t forget to take wind direction and strength into account.

Even starting with no winds from Your departure airport - as You climb the windspeed will increase by altitude.

To learn more about navigation in FS look here:
http://www.navfltsm.addr.com/

FinnJ
When I like to do basic flying, I turn to A2A Aircraft, cause A2A "basic" flying means "complex" procedures.

mattgn
A2A Mechanic

Post by mattgn »

Is this the first time you've had an issue like this, or is this a common problem?