Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
User avatar
ACE-9
Airman First Class
Posts: 57
Joined: 05 Mar 2016

Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post ACE-9 »

Hi ya'll.

I have just had a strange occurrence, on start up P3Dv4 advised me "Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434 - You will now be placed in visualisation-only mode" I had just added the splendid MH434 livery by Steve Landau found http://www.bladerunner900.co.uk/bin/FSX ... tfire2.htm and flew from EG73 to EGPE for a quick test flight and shut down normally.

I deleted simobjects.cfg - VehicleFavorites.xml - previous flight, but this did not solve the error. I ended up uninstalling my A2A installations. :? which "seemingly" solved the problem, but im not convinced its a problem with A2A or the add on livery, however..

My question: - Is there a special way to add liveries to A2A aircraft on the 64bit, P3Dv4?

----------------------------------------------
Many thanks
Roger

By the way FYI, what I did was add the following to the aircraft config and pasted the folder texture.MH434 in to my installation folder: - G:\10 - Prepar3D v4 Add-ons\Aircraft\A2A\SimObjects\Airplanes\WoP3_Spitfire

[fltsim.4]
title=Spitfire Mk IIb MH434
sim=spitIIb
model=IIb
panel=
sound=
texture=MH434
kb_checklists=Spitfire_check
kb_reference=Spitfire_ref_mkii
atc_id=MH434
atc_airline=
atc_flight_number=
atc_heavy=0
ui_manufacturer=A2A Supermarine
ui_type=Spitfire-MkIIb
ui_variation=Ray Hanna MH434 Goodwood Low Pass
ui_typerole="Single Engine Prop"
ui_createdby="A2A Simulations Inc."
description=Built Castle Bromwich August 1943. Air tested by Alex Henshaw. To 222 Sqn on August 19th. Flown in combat by South African pilot Flt Lt Henry Lardner-Burke, DFC (1916-1970, veteran of the siege of Malta, seven and a half kills, three damaged, retiring as a Wing Commander).
atc_id_color=0x00000000
atc_id_font=Verdana,-11,1,600,0
atc_parking_types=MIL_COMBAT
prop_anim_ratio=1.02
visual_damage=0
ATB
Roger

Image

User avatar
Jacques
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2136
Joined: 26 Jun 2011

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post Jacques »

Hi Roger,

did you not add the texture through the folders found in: User/Documents/Prepar3D v4 Addons/A2A/simobjects/airplanes/WoP3_Spitfire?

It isn’t clear from your description.

User avatar
ACE-9
Airman First Class
Posts: 57
Joined: 05 Mar 2016

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post ACE-9 »

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

No I chose not to install to the default path, my Add on folder is on my G: the path as stated. The addon.xml resides there as well.

In essence I have a separate SSD dedicated to P3Dv4 addons, from aircraft, scenery and effects.

Hope that clarified my install path..

Cheers
Roger
Last edited by ACE-9 on 07 Feb 2019, 15:17, edited 2 times in total.
ATB
Roger

Image

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31014
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post Lewis - A2A »

Looks like it could be a cfg issue, from memory there where some changes between FSX and P3D so you might need to change some entries if its an FSX repaint. The texture itself will be fine just some cfg edting/checking on some model names etc.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1770
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post bladerunner900 »

Hello Roger.

Not sure what you have done but that's not the cfg entry from my download. As Lewis said, the naming conventions changed for P3D v4, which is reflected in the cfg file I supplied.

Incidentally, they still work in FSX, just the order in the selection may be different, due to the aforementioned name change in P3D.

Steve.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
Image
& all the others. System Spec

User avatar
ACE-9
Airman First Class
Posts: 57
Joined: 05 Mar 2016

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post ACE-9 »

Hello Gents,

Hope Ive not opened my mouth to change feet, but I reinstalled the livery exactly as previously described above in my first post and all is OK, didn't think it was A2A stuff. Fingers crossed what ever glitch glitched it will not happen again.

Thanks Lewis and Steve for your help.

BTW, being greedy, I have all of your Spit livery Steve, you are very talented, its had to tell the difference between the real MH434 and yours....

ATB and thanks again..
Rog
ATB
Roger

Image

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31014
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Vehicle initialisation has failed for: Spitfire MH434

Post Lewis - A2A »

Cracking stuff Rog, fingers crossed it was just one of those sim gremlins.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

new reply

Return to “Spitfire MkI/II Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest