New Accusim Cub Pilot - Awesome Job by A2A

Born to fly
new reply
Mike Echo Charlie
Airman Basic

New Accusim Cub Pilot - Awesome Job by A2A

Post by Mike Echo Charlie »

Hi all,

First post - I just recently decided to get back into FS (I poodled around some w/ FS2004 and some earlier versions back in the day) after a hiatus of 5-6 years I decided this time I would take it more seriously and really try to learn all the ins and outs. Just for background I have about 12 hrs in a real Cessna 152 and a couple in a real 172 from about 10-12 yrs ago, but I ran out of resources and other circumstances forced me to quit real flying. I have some sim flying experience also, but it just didn't quite seem 'real enough' for that suspension of disbelief.

When I got the book Microsoft Flight Simulator X for Pilots Real World Training & started going through it I was immediately smitten by the Piper Cub (first time I've ever flown one in a sim). Then I found out about the A2A Accusim version and knew I had to have it. I've since been going through the downloadable lessons from the books website and replacing the stock FSX cub w/ the A2A Accusim one and it's fantastic and much more satisfying to fly than the stock FSX one. The level of immersion is just stunning. I've recently been doing 8-10 knot X-wind touch and gos at Orcas Island (w/ the equally stunning ORBX PNW scenery) and each time I learn a bit more about getting everything balanced -and sometimes if things aren't going quite smoothly but not bad enough to do a go around I'll get it down and realize my palms are all sweaty. Now w/ the Accusim and some good scenery, the suspension of disbelief is there in spades. Awesome job A2A - you've got a loyal customer now. I can't wait until I get my sim flying skills up enough to take a crack at the B377 w/ the COTs (although I will most certainly go w/ the Accusim 172 and get good w/ that and then some high performance and twin engine flying before that point).

Lewis - A2A