Attempt to Install B-17 in P3D--Anyone Else See This Issue?

A Living Legend
new reply
lcoleman
Airman

Attempt to Install B-17 in P3D--Anyone Else See This Issue?

Post by lcoleman »

Hi All,

Fist, let me say I'm aware the B-17 is an aircraft designed for FSX and NOT officially supported for P3D. I've been flying her in FSX since 2011, and have enjoyed it so much I would like to continue flying her in P3D! I know many of you are doing just that. I'm curious if any of you encountered the error I'll describe to you, and if so, were you able to resolve it?

I'm new to P3D, using version 3.4.22.19868 on Windows 10. I've set up an FSX registry entry and a fake fsx.exe as described on several forums. When I run the the WOP2_B17.EXE installer, it correctly finds my P3D root directory. When I proceed I get a pop up with this message: "File corruption is found in your FSX directory. This would likely be corrected by re-installing FSX and then Wings of POWER WWII FIGHTERS."

In searching these forums, I found a post where a member got this exact message when trying to install his B377 into FSX Steam. Lewis mentioned in a post there that he must be using an installer older than 2008. After some apparent PM discussions with Lewis, the member reported the problem was solved. I checked my B-17 executable and it's date is 3/29/2007. I paid a nominal fee to renew my download link from the store I purchased the B-17 and the Accusim Expansion pack from, and re-dowloaded, but found unfortunately that the WOP2_B17.EXE file had the same date as the one I already had. And, as expected, it would not install either. Just to be clear, I've used my original installers to install the B-17 in FSX at least three times over the years, so they are fine for FSX.

I'm curious if any other members have encountered this error. If so, I'd appreciate hearing if you were able to resolve it.