B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

A Living Legend
new reply
boris4356
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 379
Joined: 26 Sep 2009
Location: Canada

B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post boris4356 »

Hi Guys,
I have been working on an enclosed home cockpit for over a year now. It started out as a generic pit, loosely based on the EH101 Helo. I was flying Helos a lot then. Then I went back to flying the WOPII B-17 for a change, and found that I was flying it again most of the time. Then when Accusim came out, that was it, I was hooked. It was everything I always wanted in flight sim.

I then embarked on a project to renovate my home cockpit to make it B-17 specific. The first pitfall came about when I tried to use my 2D gauges from the WOPII B17 on my lower monitors. They did not read the accusim data, and were way out of whack. I then tried to program some of the switch functions on my overhead, and found that the majority of them were not the same as the regular FSUIPC coding and wouldn't work.

I was just about to throw in the towel and go back to flying the WOPII B-17 since I could program the switches, and use the 2D gauges, when Gypsy Baron (Paul) arrived on the scene. He went out of his way to re-program all the WOPII gauges to work in accusim for me, and assisted me in the fine art of LUA programming. I would like to take this opportunity to publicly thank Paul for everything, for without his help, I wouldn't be where I am today!

I then proceeded to change over my home cockpit to be B-17 specific. I originally designed the switch panels to be easily modified and changed out. Modular sort of speak. I don't have the room to make an authentic B-17 cockpit, and I already had the enclosure and basic structure built. I really did not want to start again from scratch. Also the B-17 is a two man cockpit. My cockpit is a one man, so I would not be able to reach over to the co-Pilot side for start up etc..



Here are some pictures:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


By the way how do you post pictures directly here. I always get the "Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached" when I try to post a pic.

*Note: I have edited this post to show the pictures directly.

Bill
Last edited by boris4356 on 20 Jun 2017, 06:47, edited 6 times in total.

altack
Senior Airman
Posts: 143
Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Location: LFBO
Contact:

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post altack »

Hi Bill,

quite a rig you've got !
I wish I had enough space to start my own.
I second you about Paul's wisedom and helpfulness.
Are you done with this project ?

Regards
Francois

MTFDarkEagle
Technical Sergeant
Posts: 946
Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Location: Holland, near EHTW

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post MTFDarkEagle »

Nice! Looks good!

About the posting of pictures: at the top when you make a new reply, you can see B i u Quote Code etc...

Press Img. About this should appear: "[ img][ /img]" (without the spaces) In between it (between ..g][/i.. place the link. So:

[ Img ]link[ /Img ]

Hope this helps
Lukas
Lukas
ImageImage

svaughn01
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 303
Joined: 14 Mar 2006

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post svaughn01 »

Nice job :wink:
Image
Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3342
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post Gypsy Baron »

Very impressive, Bill! Glad I could be of assistance for your "conversion" :)

Paul

boris4356
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 379
Joined: 26 Sep 2009
Location: Canada

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post boris4356 »

Thanks for the compliments Guys!

Thanks for the info about posting pics Lukas.

Francois, still a lot of work to go on the throttle, adding elevator and rudder trim wheels, and then wiring everything up. I want to add switches for the windows and radios, a parking brake etc.....Then I will go back and fix up little things that I don't like.

It is a never ending project.

Bill

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5604
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post Killratio »

Great stuff!!
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

altack
Senior Airman
Posts: 143
Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Location: LFBO
Contact:

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post altack »

boris4356 wrote:It is a never ending project.
I guess that's the way it is...

A question : what way did you cabled the Manifold Pressure Selector ?
with a pot or with switches ?

Francois

boris4356
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 379
Joined: 26 Sep 2009
Location: Canada

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post boris4356 »

Francois,
I used a pot.
Bill

User avatar
Kicooi157
Airman
Posts: 18
Joined: 04 Jul 2010

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post Kicooi157 »

Looks nice! I hope it all works when you're done! :wink:
Image Image Image Image
Yep......

altack
Senior Airman
Posts: 143
Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Location: LFBO
Contact:

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post altack »

boris4356 wrote:I used a pot.
Thanks Bill
do you use it with a real MP scale around the pot or just by twisting the pot and checking the MP in the 3D virtual cockpit ?
Francois

boris4356
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 379
Joined: 26 Sep 2009
Location: Canada

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post boris4356 »

Thanks Killratio and Kicooi157.
Bill

boris4356
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 379
Joined: 26 Sep 2009
Location: Canada

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post boris4356 »

Hi Francois,

I used a knob that has a scale on it. The knob is directly connected to the pot with no gearing. Then I calibrated it in windows, and assigned it in the B-17 configurator. It works perfectly, I don't have to look at the MP in the 3D cockpit. I will be using FSUIPC for all the other throttle functions.

Bill

altack
Senior Airman
Posts: 143
Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Location: LFBO
Contact:

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post altack »

boris4356 wrote:I used a knob that has a scale on it. The knob is directly connected to the pot with no gearing. Then I calibrated it in windows, and assigned it in the B-17 configurator. It works perfectly, I don't have to look at the MP in the 3D cockpit. I will be using FSUIPC for all the other throttle functions.
That's great !
Thank you Bill

Francois

User avatar
Snuffy
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2101
Joined: 18 May 2004
Location: The Good ol U.S. of A.

Re: B-17 Enclosed Home Cockpit Project

Post Snuffy »

That's a bit ... ummm ... large.

And all the controls seem outta place ...

Looks good though, much better than the one I don't have. ;)
Image
Snuffy
Image

new reply

Return to “B-17 Flying Fortress”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest