Can't install WW2F in FSX

Five "Ace" aircraft in a box
new reply
CWD
Senior Airman
Posts: 130
Joined: 07 Nov 2005

Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post CWD »

Got a copy of FSX for Christmas and I tried to put WW2F in it as soon as it was installed. However, when it searches my registry, it can't find my FSX install, and when I show it the path manually it tells me my FSX installation is corrupt. What could be causing this?

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15887
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Post Scott - A2A »

See here:
http://shockwaveproductions.com/forum/v ... php?t=6280

Do you have a version with an option for FSX?
A2A Simulations Inc.

[EK]Green Knight
Airman Basic
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Location: Camelot

Post [EK]Green Knight »

Howdy all, I would like to say what a pleasure it is to find this online community. I'm new to flight simulation and love all airplanes from the WWII era. Look forward to meeting more of ya'll here and in servers.

My problem is the same as CWD's. I bought Flight Sim X and WWII Fighters Special Edition. Installed FSX and then tried add WWII Fighters CD but it cant find the registry and then says my FSX files are corrupt and refuses to install into the FSX directory.

I have downloaded the WWII Fighters 1.2 update but it won't update untill the CD WWII is installed.

I'm sure there is a fix with a step by step process for this but me being the FNG here I can't seem to find it.

PLEASE HELP.........Thanks, Cheeser
Image

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15887
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Post Scott - A2A »

This happens if the installer cannot find the FSX directory. When installing, make sure the WWII FIGHTERS installer is pointed to the FSX directory. Typically, this is:

c:\program files\microsoft games\flight simulator x

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

[EK]Green Knight
Airman Basic
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Location: Camelot

Post [EK]Green Knight »

Thanks Scott

Install and 1.2 update worked fine.

My FSX directory was c:\program files\microsoft games\microsoft flight simulator x
Image

User avatar
Ricardius
Airman
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Sep 2008

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post Ricardius »

I'm having a similar problem, except wop2 does see the fsx installation, but when I try to start the game I get nothing!
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU [email protected], 2.5GB of RAM, NVidia 6800GS, Track IR pro4

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31745
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post Lewis - A2A »

Under aircraft selection...

Aircraft manufacturer = WWII Fighters

Publisher = Shockwave Productions

Using those selection types you will get the aircraft. Of course you could just select all and make sure 'show all variations' box is checked.
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

User avatar
FlexFlier
Airman First Class
Posts: 82
Joined: 01 Dec 2008
Location: Boone, North Carolina

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post FlexFlier »

Having the same problem. :cry: Installer finds FSX directory but gives error message that the directory is corrupt and I should re-install FSX. Like most of us, I have lots of add-ons (aircraft, scenery, etc.) installed and would definitely prefer not to do that. Any ideas :idea: would be most welcome.

User avatar
FlexFlier
Airman First Class
Posts: 82
Joined: 01 Dec 2008
Location: Boone, North Carolina

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post FlexFlier »

Re: my earlier post.

I just installed the Acceleration pack, which required the removal of SP2. WW2F installed and now works perfectly. :D Apparently SP2 was the problem. :?

I hope this may help others.
Taildraggers rule!

spotlope
Airman
Posts: 46
Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Contact:

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post spotlope »

I have an FSX/Acceleration installation that I'm trying to install my CD version of WWII Fighters into. I keep getting this "installer corrupted" message as well. I don't have SP2 - went straight from the FSX RTM to installing Acceleration, so that's not the problem. Like others, the installer couldn't locate my non-standard FSX installation, but I pointed it to the proper directory. No dice. Any thoughts?
Bill Womack

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15887
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Can't install WW2F in FSX

Post Scott - A2A »

Try running this to verify / fix any registry path issues:
http://www.flight1software.com/files/FS ... Repair.exe

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

new reply

Return to “WWII FIGHTERS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest