A6M5 Elevator Trim Question...

Five "Ace" aircraft in a box
new reply
alias_unknown_2004
Senior Airman

A6M5 Elevator Trim Question...

Post by alias_unknown_2004 »

Scott or SD (hell, and anyone else who could explain what is probably remedial aerodynamics to a layman...:D )

Maybe you could shed a little light on this, but the A6M5's trim characteristics as modelled has me a little perplexed. Now it says on the checklist that "above speeds of about 220 KIAS, the trim is not sufficient to counter this pitching-up tendency and someforward stick will need to be added to full nose-down trim to keep the playing flying level." Now, I'm no engineer (which is probably why I need the explanation, :P) but as I understand it, the trim tabs are tiny airfoils attached to the trailing edge of the control surface, and when they are deflected INto the slipstream, they force the control surface in the opposite direction. So (again, with no engineering degree so bare with me) I'm assuming the trim tab should be able to move the control surface to the stop if necessary, and that if pilots came back from long missions and complained about having to hold forward pressure, the engineers could correct this. Maybe make the trim tab larger? or longer?

Just curious about why this was and why it wasn't corrected...seems like a strange characteristic to persist in a plane that was otherwise brilliantly designed...

AU

mudmarine
Staff Sergeant

Post by mudmarine »

The zero has some interesting flight characteristics for sure. I wish there was some more zero pilot accounts to read, there are just too few. I'm sure there must have been a Army Air Corps or Navy/Marine flight test done on a captured zero? Does anyone know of a website link or book? S/F Mud

ICDP
BDG & A2A

Post by ICDP »