Who is using a force feedback yoke?

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
MaxZ
Senior Airman

Who is using a force feedback yoke?

Post by MaxZ »

Hi folks!

The key note of this post is: The more (and more expensive) hardware you have, the less time you spend actually using it.

I upgraded my PC aka "bought a new one and kept the keyboard" and decided that it would also be time to go a bit further and get a force feedback yoke since I got a bit frustrated when trying to trim with my old hardware.

Starting out with a Logitech 3D Xtreme joystick went via a Saitek MadCatz V1 to a X-52 setup before I got a chance to incredibly cheaply buy a TM Warthog. At the same time I thought: "oh a yoke would be neat for yoke-aircraft" (looking at you A2A :D ) so I got the basic Saitek Yoke, everbody seems to have had at one point in their flightsim life. After that I got a Flightmaster Yoke 2 (which is overpriced rubbish, don't buy that).
Saitek Rudder pedals followed and were soon replaced by MFG Crosswinds.

So the year 2021 comes and I felt the urge to upgrade again. I quickly noticed that the range of force feedback devices is managable...and also hugely overpriced. Nevertheless I settled for the Brunner CLS-E NG which set me back roughly 1200€ excluding taxes and customs and a ridiculous 90€ shipping.
And boy is this thing tough to utilise.
With my almost 2000h and more than 3500flights in real aircraft, I thought I could easily replicate the feel, especially for elevator behaviour, in the sim. Brunner provides an okayish default profile to work from and run a profile cloud where other users can upload their profiles. So this should be an easy one, right? Well no, not for me. If anyone has nailed a C172 setting, let me know, any help is appreciated.