Is serious flight simming threatened ?

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
Seat7A
Airman First Class

Is serious flight simming threatened ?

Post by Seat7A »

I've been flightsiming for over 40 years. Now I feel less and less interest in the hobby, which I regret. Here's what I think. After FSX, P3D and A2A have always been my choice. It has given me a lot of joy but also knowledge about flight, navigation, computers etc. P3D with all its shortcomings and not least a mediocre landscape has, despite everything, slowly developed into a good flight simulator. P3D has been totally dependent on third party manufacturers. They are A2A, Majestic, HiFi simulation, RealityXP and others who made P3D what it is today, a flight simulator.

So a year ago comes Microsoft Flight Simulator and we were all hoping that now comes Bird Phoenix. An advanced flight simulator with an amazing scenery. I'm disappointed. It's a fantastic scenery but hardly a serious flight simulator. I've tried the JF Piper but it certainly doesn't meet my requirements, used to A2A. The experience is also spoiled by the whole impression one gets of MSFS, an arcade game, a toy.I think much of the reason we ended up here is in the discussion we have been able to follow on this forum over the last few months, our anticipation of news that A2A with Accu Sinm is coming to MSFS. The difficulty for third party manufacturers like A2A and others to be released into the MSFS. I neither understand nor know all the details. I can only state the reality as a simple consumer.