Great video picking apart MSFS2020's flight modeling

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
Hobart Escin

Great video picking apart MSFS2020's flight modeling

Post by Hobart Escin »

This is pretty well done and sums up the current flight modeling deficiencies with MSFS2020. Laced with humor and candid observations.

DHenriques_
A2A Chief Pilot

Re: Great video picking apart MSFS2020's flight modeling

Post by DHenriques_ »

Hobart Escin wrote: 08 Jun 2021, 16:46 This is pretty well done and sums up the current flight modeling deficiencies with MSFS2020. Laced with humor and candid observations.

I've been testing the FS2020 flight model now for several months. Summed up I'm just glad my name isn't on the credits.
This being said, after extensive use of the sim flying various planes I am all but convinced that it was never Asobo's aim to be accurate with their flight model. I believe what they did was to program the flight model to known aerodynamics only within a small envelope stopping well short of the areas where things get more complicated and technical. You get a great looking plane and a great looking world and as long as you're not all that fussy, the plane will operate in 3 dimensions using the very basic and minimum of resources required to accomplish that.
From a pilot's point of view, it's not accurate at all but if all you want to do is take off and fly within the capabilities FS2020 gives you you get that. Looking beyond that you will be horribly disappointed.
So that's where we are right now with FS2020. It's fun for the gamer and fun for those with just a rudimentary knowledge of flying, but beyond that, I still believe that Microsoft will have to step in and take this program over, hiring their own aviation experts and completely revamp and recode the flight model before FS2020 will be taken seriously by the real world aviation community.