Need help getting Saitek accessories working

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
new reply
SaxTeacher
Airman Basic

Need help getting Saitek accessories working

Post by SaxTeacher »

Hello,

I'm a flight instructor (mostly in Piper Comanches) and decided to put together a flight simulator to use with the A2A Piper Comanche.

I think I've bought all the gear I will need to use P3D / FSX effectively. Both programs run, and the yoke, throttle, and rudder pedals work. But I have been unable to get any of the other Saitek accessories (radio panel, multi panel, switch panel) to work. (They power up, but don't have any effect in either FSX or P3D.)

Over the past few months I have spent hours upon hours trying to get them to work, including installing Spad, but have gotten nowhere. Now I have a week off and I would like to take this opportunity to get everything working perfectly before they return!

Where is the best place to find someone who might be able to help? I'm sure there are many experienced flight sim experts who could solve these problems in an hour or two (perhaps much less). Perhaps an adult who has some extra time, or a high school or college student who wants to make a few dollars and do a good turn. The help could be in person (we are in southwestern Connecticut) or remotely (via skype/facetime/remote desktop).

If you know of anyone who might be well suited for a bit of specialized technical support, please put them in touch with me! I would be happy to return the favor with a ride over the area (or a scenic ride around NYC) this fall, in an RL Piper Comanche!

Thanks for any advice you can give.

P.S. I have accumulated the following parts.

- Windows 10 PC (AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3ghz; 8GB RAM; SSD plus 1TB HDD) (working)
- Radeon R9 290X 4GB graphics card, with 4 screens (working)
- powered 10-port USB hub (working)
- installed programs: P3D v4; A2A Piper Comanche for P3D; FSX. (All working)