Computer opinions

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
new reply
User avatar
46th_Terror
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 304
Joined: 17 May 2004
Location: North Carolina

Computer opinions

Post 46th_Terror »

Hi all a coworker built a new gaming rig and he gave me his old one. The only thing he kept is the video card. I would appreciate some opinions on the system and card I am planning on getting and how well it will run FSX with the A2A aircraft running on it. I would also like suggestions on any downloads I should start with to get the game up to speed.

Lenovo Y700 computer

Chip I5-6600 3.3 ghx
Nvidia GeForce 1050 ti d5 4gb GDDR5
8 GB Ram DDR4 UDIMM 2133 mgh
1TB 7200 rpm + 128 SSD


Thanks

Robert

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31578
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Computer opinions

Post Lewis - A2A »

For FSX that should see you fine, obviously its no mega monster but then FSX doesn't use all of a modern system anyway, so you should be looking good. I assume you are looking at 1080 playing?

thanks,
Lewis - A2A
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

User avatar
GunninGamerz
Airman First Class
Posts: 81
Joined: 26 Jan 2017
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin USA
Contact:

Re: Computer opinions

Post GunninGamerz »

The benefits of having more than 8GB of RAM these days can be huge. Yes it can depend on what you are doing but I push my system well over 8GB all throughout the day on many games and programs. 16GB is a nice upgrade.
"SpringfieldXD45"
https://www.youtube.com/gunningamerz
https://www.twitch.tv/gunningamerz
https://twitter.com/GunninGamerz

My A2A hangar:
C172, C182, Cherokee, Comanche, V35B, P51 Mil & Civ, B17, Spitfire, T6, P-40, B377 COTS, Cub, Connie

User avatar
46th_Terror
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 304
Joined: 17 May 2004
Location: North Carolina

Re: Computer opinions

Post 46th_Terror »

It has room to go up to 32 ram in the future. I want to get it running and get my controllers set again then start adding ram as I can afford it.

User avatar
GunninGamerz
Airman First Class
Posts: 81
Joined: 26 Jan 2017
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin USA
Contact:

Re: Computer opinions

Post GunninGamerz »

46th_Terror wrote:
21 Apr 2019, 17:26
It has room to go up to 32 ram in the future. I want to get it running and get my controllers set again then start adding ram as I can afford it.
Absolutely! That's thee beauty of it, get it going now and upgrade as you need. The CPU is whats important and the one it has should get the job done. Time to get flying! :)
"SpringfieldXD45"
https://www.youtube.com/gunningamerz
https://www.twitch.tv/gunningamerz
https://twitter.com/GunninGamerz

My A2A hangar:
C172, C182, Cherokee, Comanche, V35B, P51 Mil & Civ, B17, Spitfire, T6, P-40, B377 COTS, Cub, Connie

Gabe777
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 304
Joined: 02 Sep 2017

Re: Computer opinions

Post Gabe777 »

I would install 64 bit Win 7 **, and P3D.

Just play at Medium settings on a 1080p monitor.

Do NOT buy any OrbX stuff, other than Global and Landclass.

It will look and run better than FSX.

The first upgrade should be an SSD drive. Best bang for buck is the Corsair MX500, I think.


** Win 7 is easier, as you will not need to update it all the time, and you can shut down all the background stuff easier. Just don't use it for online stuff, as security will be a bit lax.
i7 7700k (4.5 GHz) / GTX 1080 8GB - Gigabyte Windforce OC 3X / 32GB DDR4 2400 Hz (CL15) / Samsung EVO 970 plus M.2 nvme (1TB) / BeQuiet 650W PSU 50amps 12v rail -- (with P3Dv4, AS + ASCA / REX Texture Direct)

new reply

Return to “Pilot's Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests