The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:32 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:46 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:05 am
Posts: 18
Hello, Just wondering if there are any plans for an A2A update for the new RXP V2 GNS 530/430 from Reaity XP? from what I have read there are some workarounds to manually edit .cfg files and such to make it work, however it is easy to just open the A2A config tool and select which GPS you want and click ok.

For my A2A Cessna 182, I have V1 of the 530 and 430, the 172 and Cherokee I have the 430 and the Comanche I have the 530..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:24 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:58 am
Posts: 114
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
That would be very welcome indeed, as this GNS v2 works with all sims.

_________________
Cheers,
Bert

Image

Intel i4790K, 8 GB RAM, MSI GTX 970, Windows 10 Home 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:07 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:10 pm
Posts: 380
Location: Hamburg, Germany
What's the benefit of using the RealityXP GNS?

The Flight1 GNS is cheaper (the 430 and 530 are now sold in a bundle) and the support is much more reliable. And that is crucial as otherwise you won't be able to use your GNS anymore once P3Dv4 is updated the next time.

Greetings
Tim

_________________
My files in the Avsim File Library


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:10 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26271
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

no plans at the moment. The lack of mail contact in the past when the software was being sold with zero support pushed everyone including many devs to other sources. In our case I emailed Flight1 who got back to us and we now have a working relationship with them in helping get there GPS supported in our aircraft alongside the Mindstar units who also mailed us back and helped similar to the Flight1 team. We like customers of the time got zero back from RXP so had to do the basic integration ourselves.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:42 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 11:47 am
Posts: 315
Location: Swede in Finland =)
While on the subject Lewis, when you say that you are working with Flight1 to get their products working with A2A aircraft, does this also include their GNS 530/430 package? I've been eyeballing those units for a while and they now sell them together in a complete package but atm the A2A Aircraft configurator doesn't support them.

Cheers!/Andreas

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:05 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26271
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello addman,

We are looking into this yes. From what I am seeing on the forums users can already add them manually as the 3d models of the 4/530 are already present.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:21 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:05 am
Posts: 18
Reality XP seems to be quite involved again.. There website shows they are also developing a G500/600 gauge which would be awesome in A2A aircraft. Has anyone attempted to reach out to them since they have made a comeback?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:42 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5190
Hi Lewis,

Though I feel your pain in terms of past lack of support from Reality XP, I'd like to think you guys will at least consider adding your support for their new (and upcoming) GPS projects.

I think RXP still has a strong following, and presumably A2A's reputation will always benefit if customers are given the widest possible choice in terms of interfacing their other gizmos. This is an area where A2A have excelled in the past, and the number of forum posts on integrating both the F1 and RXP products shows how popular these add-ons are. (Okay - I was a late adopter! :mrgreen: )

Admittedly I'm a bit biased because I took the (possibly daft) decision to buy the RXP GNS 530W V2 a few days ago. In answer to Tim's question, it seems to have a few features not currently offered by F1 units and—for the most part—it's working well with the A2A fleet.

However, there are one-or-two issues, and this topic on the Avsim forums may be of some interest to the A2A devs if they haven't already seen it. :wink:

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:22 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:15 am
Posts: 13
Tim-HH wrote:
What's the benefit of using the RealityXP GNS?

The Flight1 GNS is cheaper (the 430 and 530 are now sold in a bundle) and the support is much more reliable. And that is crucial as otherwise you won't be able to use your GNS anymore once P3Dv4 is updated the next time.

Greetings
Tim

RXP GNS have crossfill ;) i like this functionnality. And i prefer to pay more to have more functionnalities.
For the support, i don't need it, my rxp gns is very stable, as my F1 GTN, and watching their respective forum, both seems to be efficient.
I had GTN750 for FSX, GTN650 for FSX and GTN 750 for P3dv3 and i had to pay again for GTN for P3DV4, so F1 are not so cheap ;)
For the future, difficult to say. Watch Realair for example, editors can stop their business at any moment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:43 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:33 pm
Posts: 108
So, at the moment only the GTN units are officially supported in the A2A aircraft ?

I wad led to believe the RealityXP GNS v1 gauges were as well, and it wad the Flight1 GNS that were not at present.

Is there a functional difference between the RealityXP v1 and v2 that would rendervtheir layest version inoperable ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:07 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5190
Gabe777 wrote:
I wad led to believe the RealityXP GNS v1 gauges were as well, and it wad the Flight1 GNS that were not at present.
That's correct, A2A do formally support Reality XP's GNS V1 gauges, just not the newly released RXP GNS V2, or Flight 1's GNS gauges (not yet anyway).

However, I'm still hoping that in time they'll be able to support both for the reasons I mentioned above. :wink:

Gabe777 wrote:
Is there a functional difference between the RealityXP v1 and v2 that would rendervtheir layest version inoperable ?
Yeah, it's more than just a re-release for the P3D platform. Please see the link in my earlier post in this thread as it gives some insight into little issues that have cropped-up. However, other than this and the slight tracking issue also mentioned, RXP GNS V2 does already work with the A2A add-ons. :)

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:31 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:33 pm
Posts: 108
Thnx Nick.....nice and clear! There is so much confusion at the moment with all these re releases and different platforms.....oh my, I'm just getting old..... :cry:

Edit... but to be honest, now I know v2 of the RXP is different, I may pass completely, as I really wanted them for older stuff like the Duke, Mooney and Cheyenne, and there is zero support for those !

May be prudent to go with the Flight1 GTN for now, and once Flight1's GNS gauges are fully sorted, try those at that point..cos I do like the old stuff and it increases variety. 50 quid for a Reality XP 530 is a bit steep if there may be bugs (no pun intended) in the tracking !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:43 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:58 am
Posts: 114
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Gabe777 wrote:
Thnx Nick.....nice and clear! There is so much confusion at the moment with all these re releases and different platforms.....oh my, I'm just getting old..... :cry:

Edit... but to be honest, now I know v2 of the RXP is different, I may pass completely, as I really wanted them for older stuff like the Duke, Mooney and Cheyenne, and there is zero support for those !


The GNS v2 comes with an intelligent tool that lets you replace other GNS gauges with RXP ones. That way it is possible to use the GNS v2 with older aircraft as well.

_________________
Cheers,
Bert

Image

Intel i4790K, 8 GB RAM, MSI GTX 970, Windows 10 Home 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:44 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:33 pm
Posts: 108
Rimshot wrote:
Gabe777 wrote:
Thnx Nick.....nice and clear! There is so much confusion at the moment with all these re releases and different platforms.....oh my, I'm just getting old..... :cry:

Edit... but to be honest, now I know v2 of the RXP is different, I may pass completely, as I really wanted them for older stuff like the Duke, Mooney and Cheyenne, and there is zero support for those !


The GNS v2 comes with an intelligent tool that lets you replace other GNS gauges with RXP ones. That way it is possible to use the GNS v2 with older aircraft as well.


Hi Bert.

Yes, but I was just alluding to your comment about the RXP v2 gauges not bring 100% OK in the A2A planes....so logically, even if the Duke can use the RXP 530 v1, there may be similar issues with v2, albeit not too significant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reality XP GNS V2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:52 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5190
Gabe777 wrote:
[...] I was just alluding to your comment about the RXP v2 gauges not bring 100% OK in the A2A planes....so logically, even if the Duke can use the RXP 530 v1, there may be similar issues with v2, albeit not too significant.
It seems the compatibility issues may be mostly linked to A2A's custom autopilot simulations (KAP 140 and S-TEC 30), so for add-ons like RealAir which use the default FSX/P3D autopilot, I doubt you'll see these issues.

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abschwartzjr, Google [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group