The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I’ve looked at Flight 1, Reality XP and Mindstar regarding the GTN 750/650 and GNS 530/430. Does one work or perform better with A2A aircraft ( currently have the C 172/182 and Comanche). Is one easier to install prior to making the selection in the individual A2A aircraft configuration and does one come with current up to date AIRAC/NAVDATA files. I’ve read through some forum posts on other sites and kind of get the feeling some can be a real headache to deal with. Would appreciate some feedback before I make a purchase. Thanks!

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:32 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:07 pm
Posts: 382
Hi. I've owned pretty much all the RXP and F1 avionics addons over the years.

To put it simply, the F1 GTN units work in many more addons, and the RXP version, while I think is a little better, doesn't natively work in as many addons (because the RXP versions are much newer). I say natively because you can effectively swap in a RXP GTN in place of a F1 GTN. And then there are mods to make the buttons work.

So in short you want less hassle get the F1. But if you want better functionality and better graphics and don't mind a little work, get the RXP. They started the addon avionics market in the first place.

Oh also, as for the GTN vs GNS series. It all depends on what you want.... high tech - you'll want the GTN 750. Decent but lower tech and old, get the GNS. You should google the differences between GTN and GNS. The GTN my preferred device, because for starters, you can load airways. Both will fly RNAV (GPS) approaches with LPV minimums and the autopilot can couple to the glide path. A neat feature that the GNS' can do is crossfill a flight plan. If you own both GNS 530/430 you can enter the flight plan onto one and crossfill to the other. You can't do that in the GTN units (yet).

PM me if you need details.

(these are all RXP with working clickspots)

Imageall by ryan b, on Flickr

Here's the trusty GNS530W in the old Baytower RV7 (which works great in P3D v4 with Bert's mods)

ImageUntitled-1 by ryan b, on Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:30 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Ryan b. I appreciate your information. Perhaps I may PM you regarding this.

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group