Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update (OLD COMMENTS)

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
new reply
User avatar
kapjadi
Senior Airman
Posts: 128
Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Location: 2 NM south of EICM

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update (OLD COMMENTS)

Post kapjadi »

Thanks Scott for the update! :)

User avatar
kapjadi
Senior Airman
Posts: 128
Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Location: 2 NM south of EICM

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post kapjadi »

Nice! Just did 4 awesome landings!

Andydigital
Airman First Class
Posts: 78
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: Cheshire UK

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Andydigital »

The installer isn't so clever though, the wyUpdate window appeared hidden behind all other windows and I thought the installer was hung, when in fact it was waiting from me to press a button to continue.
cheers,
Andy

billhuntsman
Airman First Class
Posts: 79
Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Location: Madison, WI

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post billhuntsman »

The update description mentions a "repaints configuration system", but I cannot find any explanation of this. Could you please explain what this is/how it works? Thanks.

Bill

Krycekuk
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 306
Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere near EGTC

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Krycekuk »

Very impressed with this new updater and the feedback from the messages about what's found to be installed and what is current or needs updating.
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero mb
Intel i7 6700K 4 Core @4.5GHz
850 Pro 512Gb SSD for Win 10 64 bit, 1Tb 850 Pro SSD for P3Dv4.
Corsair Vengeance 32Gb DDR4 3000
nVidia 980 Ti
TrackIR 5, EZDOK and CH/Saitek controls and panels
Every A2A Accu-sim aircraft

User avatar
Tim-HH
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 404
Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Tim-HH »

Scott - A2A wrote: My download speeds are slow?
Our servers are working fast 99.9% of the time (the same ones that house our online store), and if speeds at your location is slow, this means the slow down is not at our servers but somewhere between our servers and your location. The first time you run the update, it may download a few hundred megabytes of data (still less than our previous single large zip file). However, all future update will be smaller, so any long downloads now should be a one time experience.
The new system is indeed a much more user-friendly way of supplying updates :)

However, for me it's quite a problem. Since a few month I have extremely slow download speeds from a2asimulations.com. So far it was not a problem as I downloaded the core updates at work. But with the new system I'm tied to my computer and it's somehow problematic connection to a2asimulations.com.

Image

Now I wonder how I will be able to get future updates.

Greetings
Tim

User avatar
AKar
A2A Mechanic
Posts: 4531
Joined: 26 May 2013

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post AKar »

Thank you all! Much appreciated update.

Surely will check out the C172 updates when back at home desktop. :)
Let me imagine what is impossible - and then do it.

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15819
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Scott - A2A »

Tim-HH wrote:
Scott - A2A wrote:Since a few month I have extremely slow download speeds from a2asimulations.com. So far it was not a problem as I downloaded the core updates at work. But with the new system I'm tied to my computer and it's somehow problematic connection to a2asimulations.com.
Is anyone else experiencing slow service from our servers, and if so, please post the download speed you are seeing and where you are located geographically.

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

Thomasew
Airman
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Dec 2013

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Thomasew »

Hi Scott,

No problems with download speed. +- 700 KB/s :)

Where are the downloaded updates being stored? e.g. the Cessna 172 2.02 update.

.. just in case one needs to re-install, .. or, do we have to download it every time. (um, .. I hope not .. :? )


Thanks

Cheers
Tom
He Who Will Not Risk Cannot Win

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15819
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Scott - A2A »

Thomas,

Everything is downloaded on demand. This actually dramatically reduces the amount needed to download, for example. If we just wanted to make a small change to a single aircraft.cfg file, before it would require an entire monster ZIP file, now it would just download that specific file.

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

User avatar
lonewulf47
A2A Chief Pilot
Posts: 6339
Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Location: 1 NM east of LSZH

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post lonewulf47 »

Large variations between 1200 kB/s and 150 kB/s, not extremely slow however not really state-of-the-art on a cable connection capable of 15'000 kB/s (125'000 kb/s). Tested on three installs with similar results.
Location Switzerland.
Oskar

ASUS MAXIMUS XI Hero, i9-9900K 8 Core OC 5.2 GHz, WIN10-64Bit, 32GB DDR5, Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti Strix, 2x 2 TB SSD M.2, 1x 2 TB SSD, 1 monitor 4k, AS4, EFB on remote PC

Image

Jas451
Airman
Posts: 26
Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Location: Inwood,WV

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Jas451 »

Downloaded and ran new update. All went well except states "B377 Stratocruiser not found" although it updates COTS without issue. Reinstalled the B377 again and ran update again with the same result :?
Image

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15819
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post Scott - A2A »

Jas451 wrote: "B377 Stratocruiser not found" although it updates COTS without issue.
This is correct. There are two products, the first B377 and Captain of the Ship.

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

ak416
Airman
Posts: 13
Joined: 19 Nov 2012
Contact:

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post ak416 »

Was just in the middle of an FSX reinstall and was dreading having to manually update everything. Just updated everything with the one program in all of about 5 minutes. Download speeds were stable around 1.2mbs, very quick. Thanks Scott, this program is a life saver (or, at the very least, a time saver ;)!

User avatar
WB_FlashOver
Technical Sergeant
Posts: 796
Joined: 10 Jun 2012
Location: (S05) U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: A2A (Accu-Sim) Update 07/15/2014 - DOWNLOAD

Post WB_FlashOver »

Very nice Scott

I live on the south coast of Oregon and I was bouncing from 2mb/s to 5mb/s on the download.

I like the updater and think it's a great idea and well put together. 8)

Thumbs UP!

FlashO
-- Fly Well, Be Nice, Have Fun ! ! !

Z390 FTW | i9 9900K @ 5.2 | 16GB 3333 CL14 | 1080 Ti FTW3
970 Pro 512GB (OS)| 970 Evo 1TB | 850 Evo 500GBx2 Raid0
3TB HDD | Define S2 | EKWB Dual Loop


P51civ - T6 - P40 - B17 - B377 - L049 - Comanche 250 - Spit

new reply

Return to “Pilot's Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danmand and 12 guests