Straight FSX install, no FS9

The most maneuverable WWII aircraft in history
new reply
User avatar
Greytop
BDG
Posts: 203
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: Reading, UK

Straight FSX install, no FS9

Post Greytop »

Quick question, will the Butcher Bird install and run without a hitch in FSX? I no longer have FS9 so it would be a straight install.
I couldn't find any info on install straight into FSX all posts seemed to be about copying over from FS9 to FSX.
Comments appreciated as I'm thinking of purchasing this after recently purchasing the excellent WW2 fighters.
:)
Windows Vista SP1
ASUS P5N-E SLI
Intel Core 2 Q6600
4 Gbytes DDR2 PC6400 (GeIL low latency)
ATI Radeon HD 4870
24" Dell2407WFP @1920x1200
SB Audigy4
TrackIR 3 Pro+Vector expansion
MS SWFF2

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15807
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Post Scott - A2A »

The installer looks for FS9 specific files, so it will not install into FSX. The file list of files are here:
http://shockwaveproductions.com/forum/v ... php?t=6460

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

Manta
Airman First Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Location: Rome Italy
Contact:

Post Manta »

Hi Scott,

in the early future are you going to update The Anton & Dora to install them in FSX?

Thanks

manta

User avatar
Scott - A2A
A2A General
Posts: 15807
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Location: USA
Contact:

Post Scott - A2A »

Manta,

We want to, but have not tested all wings of power aircraft in FSX yet, which is why we first posted the files. My biggest concern is putting something out that is shoddy, buggy, etc. The earler WoP planes are more simple, and have transferred with mininal issues, but this is not the case on the later ones, as we've put in more advanced features. We finally got the Microsoft FSX Dev kit which will hopefully help address some issues we know that are there.

Scott.
A2A Simulations Inc.

User avatar
Greytop
BDG
Posts: 203
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: Reading, UK

Post Greytop »

Scott - Shockwave wrote:The installer looks for FS9 specific files, so it will not install into FSX. The file list of files are here:
http://shockwaveproductions.com/forum/v ... php?t=6460

Scott.
Scott thanks for the reply,
Sorry I'm being a bit of a dumb **s here :oops:
What do I do with these files and where would I find them? Do I for example point the FW190 installer to an arbitary file and install there then copies these files some where? I have not ordered the FW190 yet because I want to be sure of the process.

Thanks.
Windows Vista SP1
ASUS P5N-E SLI
Intel Core 2 Q6600
4 Gbytes DDR2 PC6400 (GeIL low latency)
ATI Radeon HD 4870
24" Dell2407WFP @1920x1200
SB Audigy4
TrackIR 3 Pro+Vector expansion
MS SWFF2

User avatar
Greytop
BDG
Posts: 203
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: Reading, UK

Post Greytop »

Greytop wrote:
Scott - Shockwave wrote:The installer looks for FS9 specific files, so it will not install into FSX. The file list of files are here:
http://shockwaveproductions.com/forum/v ... php?t=6460

Scott.
Scott thanks for the reply,
Sorry I'm being a bit of a dumb **s here :oops:
What do I do with these files and where would I find them? Do I for example point the FW190 installer to an arbitary file and install there then copies these files some where? I have not ordered the FW190 yet because I want to be sure of the process.

Thanks.
Ahem :D anybody ??? Thanks :)
Windows Vista SP1
ASUS P5N-E SLI
Intel Core 2 Q6600
4 Gbytes DDR2 PC6400 (GeIL low latency)
ATI Radeon HD 4870
24" Dell2407WFP @1920x1200
SB Audigy4
TrackIR 3 Pro+Vector expansion
MS SWFF2

User avatar
Snuffy
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2101
Joined: 18 May 2004
Location: The Good ol U.S. of A.

Post Snuffy »

create a folder called fs9 and a text file called fs9.exe and put it in that folder ...

rumor has it the planes should install then, at which point you copy it over to FsX

(DISCLAIMER: I do not have FSX, I have just been reading about it in various forums and this seems to be the answer I have found most prevalent. I have not tried it myself.)
Image
Snuffy
Image

User avatar
Greytop
BDG
Posts: 203
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: Reading, UK

Post Greytop »

Thanks Snuffy,

I'll order the 190 and give it a go. Thanks again.
Windows Vista SP1
ASUS P5N-E SLI
Intel Core 2 Q6600
4 Gbytes DDR2 PC6400 (GeIL low latency)
ATI Radeon HD 4870
24" Dell2407WFP @1920x1200
SB Audigy4
TrackIR 3 Pro+Vector expansion
MS SWFF2

User avatar
Greytop
BDG
Posts: 203
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: Reading, UK

Post Greytop »

Edit :D I managed to get to install OK in the end. It all appears to run OK with no missing gauges and the FW190 looks superb.
One thing I have noticed though is very poor frame rates compared to the WW2 Fighters. I currently have Autogen turned off because I'm using the excellent high resolution UK terrain by Horizon. Normally I get frame rates between 40 and 60 FPS with all WW2 Fighters, when I run any of the FW190 variants I get sub 20 FPS ?? The after loading the Fw190 if I then try a WW2 fighters aircraft I get the same poor FPS. However if I quit game and come back in again to a WW2 Fighter aircraft my frame rates are back to 40 to 60 FPS?? Any ideas?

Cheers :)
Windows Vista SP1
ASUS P5N-E SLI
Intel Core 2 Q6600
4 Gbytes DDR2 PC6400 (GeIL low latency)
ATI Radeon HD 4870
24" Dell2407WFP @1920x1200
SB Audigy4
TrackIR 3 Pro+Vector expansion
MS SWFF2

new reply

Return to “Focke Wulf 190 "Butcher Bird"”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest