Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
User avatar
LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1361
Joined: 23 Jun 2015
Location: LBSF

Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post LZ-WIL »

Hello,

Let me unfortunately join the rows here with my first issues with "the Bo" in FSX Acceleration after installation. I knew that this is going to be heavy plane for my old rig (Core2Duo E6750, 8GB RAM, 256SSD, GTX750Ti, Windows 10), but I decided to try it in FSX.

List of issues and what I have done so far:

1. Cockpit blurry textures - raised TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD in FSX.cfg from 1024 to 4096 - seem to fix the issue, cabin looks crisp.

2. No switches sounds in cabin (door, window and engine audible ) - volume at 100 in "Shift+3" FSX is using System Default sound.

3. Engine sound goes out and disappears totally as RPM rise. - volume at 100 in "Shift+3" FSX is using System Default sound.

4. All gauges broken (RED) even after NEW aircraft selected. (cannot be repaired even after aircraft reset or overhaul) - reinstalled DX9 and SimConnect.

5. Cannot raise on jacks - jacks sunk into the ground - aircraft does not lift. - will try different airports might be the ORBX addon.

6. Rudder pedals (TFRP) seem to operate the elerons along with the ruddervator - first time experience after new A2A install :shock: I believe I can overcome that.

7. Frame rate drop like in this post: http://a2asimulations.com/forum/viewtop ... 39&t=65266 same 5-12 while in cabin, but I kinnda expected such behaviour.

Currently I have uninstalled the plane and will make another download from the shop and reinstall, suspecting corrupted copy due to too many issues...

Cheerz,
Vladimir "aka Will"
Bonanza, Skylane, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Cub, Texan, Mustang, Spitfire, Flying Fortress

ryanbatc
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 406
Joined: 20 Nov 2012

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post ryanbatc »

On item 6 that's normal. My friend just bought a smaller Beechcraft (Musketeer) and the ailerons are bungee corded to the rudders it's interesting! The same on the bonanzas

Molly - A2A
A2A Major
Posts: 1177
Joined: 01 Jun 2012

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post Molly - A2A »

Hi Vladimir,

You may find that your issues are fixed after a reinstall of the aircraft. Some users are experiencing some of the difficulties you have encountered, and they were able to resolve them with a reinstall. They will sort the issue ASAP, but for now this should get you up and running.

User avatar
LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1361
Joined: 23 Jun 2015
Location: LBSF

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane (Resolved)

Post LZ-WIL »

Hi, Yey 2nd installation was magic!

Thanks for the support and the advises guys. I have downloaded another copy from the A2A shop and performed clean reinstall.
The reinstall actually did the magic - all the reported issues are gone! Yey, I can now study the this beautiful plane and enjoy it's features! :mrgreen:

1. Cockpit blurry textures - raised TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD in FSX.cfg from 1024 to 4096 - seem to fix the issue, cabin looks crisp. (SOLVED)

2. No switches sounds in cabin (door, window and engine audible ) - volume at 100 in "Shift+3" FSX is using System Default sound. (SOLVED after reinstall)

3. Engine sound goes out and disappears totally as RPM rise. - volume at 100 in "Shift+3" FSX is using System Default sound. (SOLVED after reinstall)

4. All gauges broken (RED) even after NEW aircraft selected. (cannot be repaired even after aircraft reset or overhaul) - reinstalled DX9 and SimConnect. (SOLVED after reinstall)

5. Cannot raise on jacks - jacks sunk into the ground - aircraft does not lift. - will try different airports might be the ORBX addon.
(SOLVED after reinstall)

6. Rudder pedals (TFRP) seem to operate the elerons along with the ruddervator - first time experience after new A2A install :shock: I believe I can overcome that. (I guess this is normal for this airplane)

7. Frame rate drop like in this post: same 5-12 while in cabin, but I kinnda expected such behaviour. (Frame rates have bettered I have 12-18 in flight and only 8-12 on the ground - but this is from the scenery I am sure)

Cheerz,
Vladimir "aka Will"
Bonanza, Skylane, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Cub, Texan, Mustang, Spitfire, Flying Fortress

Molly - A2A
A2A Major
Posts: 1177
Joined: 01 Jun 2012

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane (Resolved)

Post Molly - A2A »

LZ-WIL wrote:6. Rudder pedals (TFRP) seem to operate the elerons along with the ruddervator - first time experience after new A2A install :shock: I believe I can overcome that. (I guess this is normal for this airplane)
That is correct Vladimir, it is how the V-tail is "rigged" and controlled in the real thing. :)

User avatar
LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1361
Joined: 23 Jun 2015
Location: LBSF

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post LZ-WIL »

Hi team,

Just another observation while installing the A2A Bonanza V35B in FSX Acceleration. In both my installations at the end, when the DirectX update started, it was quickly interrupted with a System Error and to check DirectX.log. The installation ends successfully however with update check. I have installed DX9c successfully from the links provided in Troubleshooting FAQ threads.
I wonder, could Windows 10 Defender be the culprit in both cases which I forgot to deactivate completely?

Here are the DX logs from this morning setup from the DirectX in the Aircraft installer:
  • DirectX.log

    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: ***** DXWSETUP *****
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: WinMain()
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: IsIA64(): not IA64.
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: Unable to get Version on target file C:\WINDOWS\system32\directx\websetup\dsetup.dll
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: Installed file C:\WINDOWS\system32\directx\websetup\dsetup.dll
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: Unable to get Version on target file C:\WINDOWS\system32\directx\websetup\dsetup32.dll
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: Installed file C:\WINDOWS\system32\directx\websetup\dsetup32.dll
    09/16/18 09:18:38: DXWSetup: GetDXVersion(): Unable to get RC string from registry.
  • DXError.log

    --------------------
    [09/16/18 09:18:43] module: DXWSetup(Jun 2 2010), file: dxwsetup.cpp, line: 219, function: CDXWSetup::InitInstallEngine

    Sections are not initialized.

    --------------------
    [09/16/18 09:18:43] module: DXWSetup(Jun 2 2010), file: psheets.cpp, line: 472, function: PreinstDlgProc

    CDXWSetup::InitInstallEngine() failed.

Cheerz,
Vladimir "aka Will"
Bonanza, Skylane, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Cub, Texan, Mustang, Spitfire, Flying Fortress

User avatar
DC3
Technical Sergeant
Posts: 694
Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Location: California

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post DC3 »

I also had all the issues listed above.

In particular blurry text on the dash and all instruments red in the maintenance hanger and similarly unrepairable. I am also using FSX with Accelerator.

After an uninstall and reinstall using the same originally downloaded file all the problems except the blurry text went away, the text did become a little more readable.

I can not locate an fsx.cfg file to make the change to the graphics in hopes of sharpening up the text. My installation is in C:\FSX and I would have expected for find it there. Is it somewhere else?

I am currently have the highest setting in FSX for graphics and the frames limited to 20fps. I rarely get 20 fps. The framerate ranges between 12fps and 19fps, averaging 17-18fps most of the time.

The short flight I had at 3 am this morning was a great deal of fun. The Bonanza is definitely much more squirrely than the Commanche or any of the other GA aircraft from A2A. Thanks Scott for another winner. (Just need to work out install issues :) )

User avatar
Nick - A2A
A2A Captain
Posts: 11804
Joined: 06 Jun 2014
Location: UK

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post Nick - A2A »

DC3 wrote:I can not locate an fsx.cfg file to make the change to the graphics in hopes of sharpening up the text. My installation is in C:\FSX and I would have expected for find it there. Is it somewhere else?
Hello DC3,

Please see the info in this recently pinned topic.

Thanks,
Nick

User avatar
LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1361
Joined: 23 Jun 2015
Location: LBSF

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post LZ-WIL »

Hi DC3,

FSX.cfg would be in C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX. Be advised however to make a backup of the fsx.cfg just to be on the safe side. Also "AppData" is hidden by default.

Example shows my setup:

\Users\William\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\fsx.CFG

Cheerz,
Vladimir "aka Will"
Bonanza, Skylane, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Cub, Texan, Mustang, Spitfire, Flying Fortress

User avatar
DC3
Technical Sergeant
Posts: 694
Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Location: California

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post DC3 »

Found the setting TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD=1024 in a file called myconfig.cfg in My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files

Thank you LZ WIL !!

I found it in the location you specified and made the change. Haven't tried it out yet.

User avatar
LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1361
Joined: 23 Jun 2015
Location: LBSF

Re: Bad Start with a Wonderful plane

Post LZ-WIL »

Hi DC3,

Please refer to the new thread Nick - A2A posted, here. File is named FSX.CFG

Regards,
Vladimir
Bonanza, Skylane, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Cub, Texan, Mustang, Spitfire, Flying Fortress

new reply

Return to “Bonanza Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests