Tip Tank Usage

The world's most famous high performance general aviation aircraft
new reply
SJDobby
Airman

Tip Tank Usage

Post by SJDobby »

Hi

Is there a recommended "best practice" for the Bonanza tip-tank usage? Specifically:

1. Is it advantageous to carry fuel in the tips "generally" (even when you haven't filled the main tanks) to give the wings a little more structural resistance to bending forces (such as what you might get flying through cloud)?
(I'm no engineer, so please do correct me if the above theory is incorrect or in fact if the reverse is true!)

2. At what point in a flight should you be pumping tip-fuel into the main tanks? I generally only wait until the main tanks are down to about 90% full, but in light of the possible reply to the above question maybe it is better to use the tip tanks as the "reserve" tanks, i.e. keep them full for as long as is practicable and only empty them into the mains once the mains get down, say, below a third or so full?

Thanks
Simon
ImageImage

AKar
A2A Master Mechanic

Re: Tip Tank Usage

Post by AKar »

1. I'd say no. Practical issues dictate that often you need to meet takeoff or landing limitations with any imbalance in the tip tanks. You'd need to worry on balancing the fuel quantities in the tips more than in the mains to stay within the book. Hence, you'd probably want have the tips at or below about 1/4 "as soon as practicable" to remain comfortably within the book, and forget about any possible imbalance procedures should the need rise.

Structurally, the question is complicated. While the tips reduce steady state bending loads, they potentially do add some harmonic 'pendulum loads' (that basically cause more fatigue) in flight through any turbulence. Note that the airplane is fairly well-stressed on its own, so there is little need to relieve any regular wing loadings.