The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:07 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:54 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 338
Location: CPP6, Ontario, Canada
I was just trying out my new Bonanza and have come across an error.
If I load a flight in the rain I get the following: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED and the sim shuts down.
I tried the 172 and had the same error.
Default aircraft, same scenario, no issues.
Bo or 172 without rain, no issues.

P3Dv4.3
I7-6700K @ 4.0 + 13% ASUS Z170-P, 16GB DDR4 2133, RTX 2070 8GB, Win7Ult 64 bit.

Update: Just took a flight in the Bo in fair weather (First flight! Very impressive simulation!) without any issues. Tried one briefly in snow and got the same error.

_________________
FSX: B377 & L049, Spitfire, P40, P47, P51 Mil & Civ, T-6, Cub, WOPII P-40, AF Corsair, Anson & HE-219, Accu-Feel AL&S.
P3Dv4: L049, T-6, 172, 182, Comanche, Cherokee, Spitfire, P-51 (mil), P-40, Bonanza, Accu-Feel V2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:48 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 1020
Location: Poland
A couple of questions to rule out easy possibilities: Direct x version installed correctly ? New gpu drivers installed and profiles checked ? Shader cache in sim cleaned ? Error reporting in sim disabled ? What is your default sim scenario ? Any other info about the error ? What are your sim settings ? Any additional A2A settings from the configurator checked ? Any other addons recently installed ? Simconnect correctly running ? Dxdiag report anything ? Any overclock ?

Also i would update to 4.4 and win10

There is also quite a long topic here about this, maybe it will be useful: http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&start=15

And here https://answers.ea.com/t5/Crysis-Games/ ... -p/1118490


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:03 pm 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7886
Location: United Kingdom
Hello thunderstreak,

It may also be worth looking at any NVIDIA Inspector tweaks you're using.

There's quite a long thread on this issue on the Prepar3D forums; there are a few suggestions there you can try too.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:40 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 338
Location: CPP6, Ontario, Canada
Hi there, I have seen the 2 threads mentioned above.
Only recent changes are a new video card and along with it the latest drivers. Shader cache was cleaned at that time.
I could fly in rain with the A2A rain effects with my previuos video card.
The Bonanza has been installed since the video card upgrade, DirectX should have been updated with the Bonanza install.
I have seen some suggestions that the most recent drivers may be suspect, I may try the previous version tonight.
I don't use Nvidia Inspector with P3D, I've heard it causes issues.
I will upgrade to 4.4 once Tacpack, UTLive, Rex, ORBX, Active Sky, etc. are out of Beta and compatible.
I'm not sure about upgrading to W10 yet, W7 has been working well and I'm not in the mood for a full reinstall at the moment.
After all of these years of tweaking FSX I finally have a setup where I can just fly and have fun!
Default scenario has not been changed, the F-22 @ Eglin.
CPU is overclocked slightly but the GPU is not tweaked.

I will try Dxdiag and confirm error reporting is off.

Thanks!

_________________
FSX: B377 & L049, Spitfire, P40, P47, P51 Mil & Civ, T-6, Cub, WOPII P-40, AF Corsair, Anson & HE-219, Accu-Feel AL&S.
P3Dv4: L049, T-6, 172, 182, Comanche, Cherokee, Spitfire, P-51 (mil), P-40, Bonanza, Accu-Feel V2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:34 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 338
Location: CPP6, Ontario, Canada
Problem solved.
I had 2 video cards installed, RTX 2070 for 3 monitor surround and GTX 960 to run a 4th for GPS or “shift-?” windows.
Apparently they don’t get along.
Undocking the GPS or the shift windows to move to the 4th monitor was causing my errors.
I’ve removed the 960 and switched the 4th monitor to the HDMI port on the 2070.
Everything is functioning as desired.
Took the Bo for a ride (PAYA - PAJN) in some downright nasty weather without any issues.

Those A2A rain effects are stellar! What a difference!

_________________
FSX: B377 & L049, Spitfire, P40, P47, P51 Mil & Civ, T-6, Cub, WOPII P-40, AF Corsair, Anson & HE-219, Accu-Feel AL&S.
P3Dv4: L049, T-6, 172, 182, Comanche, Cherokee, Spitfire, P-51 (mil), P-40, Bonanza, Accu-Feel V2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Direct X Error
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:58 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28476
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Good to hear, happy flying in the virtual skies

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group