Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
User avatar
MatsH
Airman First Class
Posts: 62
Joined: 20 May 2011

Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post MatsH »

Hello,

I’m in P3D V5 and I have tried binding the Perry AP pitch index to buttons and that works. The problem is that I get +100% and -100% with increase/decrease and nothing in between. Binding an axis works just fine but I would rather use that axis for something else. Is there a workaround or can you fix this?

alan CXA651
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2217
Joined: 15 Mar 2016

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post alan CXA651 »

Hi MatsH.
This fault still exists on the FSX connie an update way back caused this issue , and it looks like its never been addressed , which is unusual for A2A , i just use the VC sperry pitch control with the mouse.
regards alan. 8)
Image
Image
Image
Image

Vinay
Airman Basic
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 Nov 2017

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Vinay »

Not only FSX, this issue exists on P3D4 as well. Long ago I had made a post on same subject. And noticed somebody has already reported this problem before. But the issue still exists even after a couple updates I got on my version of Connie. This issue existed since the product release. At current scenario with newest update on P3D4.5 it’s still not fixed yet.

User avatar
Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3339
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Gypsy Baron »

I use FSUIPC to map the AP elevator function to two switched on one of my Saitek throttle quads.
I define the functions in my L049 MCRO file:

120=L:ApElevatorControl=INC
121=L:ApElevatorControl=DEC

And I am then able to select those functions in the FSUIPC control assignment menu. The assignment looks like this in the FSUIPC.INI file section for my L049(Switched A0 and A1. Limits +100 and -100.

8=RA,0,CM25:120,100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
9=RA,1,CM25:121,-100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-

Once I have the plane trimmed out I simply switch on the AP Servos and use my switches to increase/decrease the altitude.
I have similar assignments for the Rudder and Ailerons.

Paul

Image

User avatar
MatsH
Airman First Class
Posts: 62
Joined: 20 May 2011

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post MatsH »

That sounds interesting Gypsy Baron!

I know how to edit the FSUIPC.INI but what is the L049 MCRO file?

Thanks!
Mats

User avatar
Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3339
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Gypsy Baron »

The MCRO files are simply text files with the 'MCRO' extension that informs FSUIPC of the existence of L:Vars...the
Local Variables present in the aircraft gauges so that they may be used to read or write to the functions via FSUIPC.

Here is a sample of portions of my L-049 MCRO file:

[MACROS]
1=L:WingflapWarningLampTestSwitch=TOGGLE
2=L:FireTestSwitch=SET
3=L:CarbHeat1Switch=TOGGLE
4=L:CarbHeat2Switch=TOGGLE
5=L:CarbHeat3Switch=TOGGLE
6=L:CarbHeat4Switch=TOGGLE
7=L:InverterSwitch=TOGGLE
8=L:Eng1_FuelTankCutOffLever=TOGGLE
9=L:Eng2_FuelTankCutOffLever=TOGGLE
10=L:Eng3_FuelTankCutOffLever=TOGGLE
11=L:Eng4_FuelTankCutOffLever=TOGGLE
12=L:Propeller1SwitchRPM=SET
13=L:Propeller2SwitchRPM=SET
14=L:Propeller3SwitchRPM=SET
15=L:Propeller4SwitchRPM=SET
16=L:PropellerMasterSwitchRPM=SET
17=L:Feather1Switch=SET
18=L:Feather2Switch=SET
19=L:Feather3Switch=SET
20=L:Feather4Switch=SET
.
.
.
.
84=L:Engine1ValvesSwitch=SET
85=L:Engine2ValvesSwitch=SET
86=L:Engine3ValvesSwitch=SET
87=L:Engine4ValvesSwitch=SET
88=L:ThrottleLock=SET
89=L:CHTselectorPos=CYCLIC

90=L:FuelDumpLeftLeverState=DEC
91=L:FuelDumpRightLeverState=DEC
92=L:FuelCrossfeed1Lever=SET
93=L:FuelCrossfeed2Lever=SET
94=L:FuelCrossfeed3Lever=SET
95=L:FuelCrossfeed4Lever=SET

96=L:FireEngineSelectorState=CYCLIC
97=L:FireBottle1Switch=TOGGLE
98=L:FireBottle2Switch=TOGGLE
99=L:Co2Release2Switch=TOGGLE

100=L:FuelDumpLeftLeverState=INC
101=L:FuelDumpRightLeverState=INC

The MCRO entry describes how the L:Var is to be treated, a value SET, or TOGGLED in the case of a binary function. CYCLIC
in the case of a multi-position switch that can cycle through a range of values and repeat..1,2,3,1,2,3
INC and DEC indicate that the L:Var is to be incremented or decremented, say 2 switches to increase or decrease the HDG bug.

The MCRO file(s), I have one for each of my aircraft, is simply placed in the Modules folder. FSUIPC will read the file(s) and add
the L:Vars to the menu of assignable commands.

One can define multiple actions to an L:Vars so that one switch does one action, another a different action:

140=L:CowlFlap1Upper=SET
141=L:CowlFlap1Upper=INC
142=L:CowlFlap1Upper=DEC

I have lines in my INI that allow me to open or close the cowl flaps incrementally or SET them immediately to a specified
position....13%, 25%, 100%. Lots of flexibility.



I have a number of other 'neat things' that can be accomplished with FSUIPC assignments, such as multiple functions
for any given switch using the 'conditional assignment' features of FSUIPC. Think of this as allowing for different 'mode' sets.

The simplest implementation would be using the 'pinkie switch' on a joy stick as the mode switch. Not activated, one command
is executed for switch X, activated, a different command is executed. This essentially doubles the number of switches
available to you :)

200=CP(-C,6)D,14,CM25:92,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:FuelCrossfeed1Lever set}-
201=CP(+C,6)D,14,CM25:8,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:Eng1_FuelTankCutOffLever tgl}-

Controller C, button 6 is my Saitek X45 pinkie switch. Controller D switch 14 is on one of my Saitek Throttle Quads.
CM25 is the number assigned to my L-049 MCRO file and 92 and 8 are the line numbers of the L:Vars used here.

Now, if like me, you would prefer to do most everything via switches and limit the amount of mouse usage, you can
use another technique to give you as many 'modes' as you want/need.
This involves a different 'conditional assignment' methods. One that uses a 'user defined offset' to hold the current 'mode' number,
I use the offset 0x66C0, the first byte in the block of user defined offsets. The construct is used by preceding something
like the two examples above with the conditional requirement:

200=B66C0=8 CP(-C,6)D,14,CM25:92,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:FuelCrossfeed1Lever set}-
201=B66C0=8 CP(+C,6)D,14,CM25:8,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:Eng1_FuelTankCutOffLever tgl}-

IF, and ONLY IF, Offset 0x66C0 contains the number '8' will these lines be evaluated. Now a similar set of entries for the
same controller and switches but in a different 'mode'

31=B66C0=2 CP(-C,6)D,14,CM25:132,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:WiperSwitch tgl}-
32=B66C0=2 CP(+C,6)D,14,C65560,0 -{STROBES_TOGGLE}-

One pinky switch and one controller switch now has 4 possible actions.

On my Dual throttle quads I have 12 switches (6 double throw) of which I use the pair closest to my on my left
to implement the 'mode change' function. The top switch increments the value in 0x66C0 and the bottom decrements that value.
They are CYCLIC wrapping around going up or down based of the number of Modes I have defined. in the case of the Connie
that would be 12. On my quads the other 10 switches yield a possible 120 unique actions !

!3=-{SWITCHES 4 & 5 ON THE QUADRANT USED TO SELECT THE MODE}-
600=PA,4,Cx510066C0,x000C0001 ;//INC BY 1,MAX 11 THEN 0,CYLCLIC -{offset byte cyclic inc, offset 66C0 (Incr=1, Limit=12)}-
601=PA,5,Cx610066C0,x000C0001 ;//DEC BY 1,MIN 0 THEN 11,CYLCLIC -{offset byte cyclic dec, offset 66C0 (Decr=1, Limit=12)}-

I have a small Lua script (one for each of my planes) that displays a message with the current assignments for the mode set.
When I change the mode the message appears of a few seconds or I can hit the F10 key to trigger the display.

In the case of the Connie, most modes have the 'double conditional assignment' coding so that the Lua display will be 4 lines.
the first 2 lines show the assignments for the upper and lower switches with the pinkie NOT engaged. The bottom 2 lines
show the assignments when the Pinkie switch is engaged.

In previous aircraft that were not as complex as the Connie I only used the user-defined-offset programming, still I was able to control aircraft such as the B-17G with 9 mode settings. I can go from cold & dark to getting into the air just by using those
10 switches :)

Another thing I do is combine multiple actions in a single switch and mode simply by entering the desired code for the actions
with the same controller and switch defined. In the case of the B-17G when I hit one of my 4 engine start/mesh switches, the
start will also set the primer to that engine as well as the fire extinguisher. One of the 10 switches activates the primer and
the other 'clears' the switches and returns the primer and fire ext back to default.

20=B66C0=1 PD,14,CM6:5,0 ;//STARTER ENG 1 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:Starter12Start set}-
34=B66C0=1 PD,14,CM6:30,1 ;//SET PRIMER SELECT TO ENG 1 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:PrimerSel set}-
38=B66C0=1 PD,14,CM6:37,1 ;//SET FIRE EXT. SWITCH TO ENG 1 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:FireEngineSelected set}-

28=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:5,1 ;//CLEAR STARTER 1/2 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:Starter12Start set}-
29=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:6,1 ;//CLEAR STARTER 3/4 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:Starter34Start set}-
30=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:7,1 ;//CLEAR MESH 1/2 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:Starter12Mesh set}-
31=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:8,1 ;//CLEAR MESH 3/4 -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:Starter34Mesh set}-
32=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:30,0 ;//SET PRIMER SELCT TO OFF -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:PrimerSel set}-
42=B66C0=1 PA,2,CM6:37,0 ;//SET FIRE EXT. SWITCH TO OFF -{Macro A2A_B17G: L:FireEngineSelected set}-

Lots of possibilities if you are familiarwith hand editing the INI file. Mine is around 7000 lines long :)

Paul

Image

User avatar
MatsH
Airman First Class
Posts: 62
Joined: 20 May 2011

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post MatsH »

Thank you!

This is very interesting! I had no idea it was possible! I almost got it working!

Now I can increase my pitch index from -100 to 0 and decrease it from 100 to 0. I cannot increase if the index is >0 or decrease if it is <0.

My mcro:
[Macros]
120=L:ApElevatorControl=INC
121=L:ApElevatorControl=DEC

My .ini:
[Buttons.Lockheed L-049 Constellation]
0=R3,11,C65615,0 -{ELEV_TRIM_UP}-
1=R3,13,C65607,0 -{ELEV_TRIM_DN}-
2=P2,22,C65758,0 -{FLAPS_INCR}-
3=P2,21,C65759,0 -{FLAPS_DECR}-
4=P2,14,C65602,0 -{THROTTLE_DECR}-
5=P2,7,C66064,0 -{SPOILERS_ON}-
6=P2,6,C66065,0 -{SPOILERS_OFF}-
9=U2,10,C65771,0 -{PROP_PITCH_DECR}-
10=R2,11,C65771,0 -{PROP_PITCH_DECR}-
12=R2,10,C65769,0 -{PROP_PITCH_INCR}-
13=U2,11,C65769,0 -{PROP_PITCH_INCR}-
14=RA,0,CM25:120,100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
15=RA,1,CM25:121,-100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-
16=P1,29,CM1:120,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
17=P1,28,CM1:121,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-

Where have I gone wrong?

I am very thankful for your help!

User avatar
Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3339
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Gypsy Baron »

You should not need these 2 lines: opps....EDITED BELOW !

16=P1,29,CM1:120,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
17=P1,28,CM1:121,0 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}

Looking at those lines again after I wrote the rest of this post below I see the problem.
The above lines are using your controller #1 but the parameter '0' in both instances is what is causing the problem.
They should be 100 and -100 and the prefix letter should be 'R' for 'REPEAT' as long as the switch, 28 or 29 is active.

Also, just to clarify, the MCRO file entries start at 0. the 20 and 21 entries I showed for an example
are a copy & paste from my file which is over 100 entries long :) Your file will work as is but you should start the
file numbering from 0 in the future.

These lines should be all that you need and appear to be the same, functionally as my INI entries
assuming that your controller has the letter 'A' assigned but looking at the code above those lines it appears
that you are using controller #2 for those switch assignments.

14=RA,0,CM25:120,100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
15=RA,1,CM25:121,-100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-

I suspect that you do not have FSUIPC set to assign letters to your controllers so the 'A' in 'RA' will not work.
It should be R1 or R2 depending upon which controller you are using for this coding. Also the switches,
0 and 1, may not be correct as I see you assigned switches 28 and 29 in lines 16 & 17.

Try changing those lines to 'R2' if using controller 2 or 'R1' if using controller 1:

14=R2,29,CM25:120,100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
15=R2,28,CM25:121,-100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-

And remove lines 16 & 17.
Assuming you are using your controller '2' and the switches you wish to use are 28 and 29.

To clarify:
My code is using the conditional assignment features that I talked about in my previous post and
I have FSUIPC set to use LETTERS for my controllers instead of the default numbers. That is what the 'A"
represents in my code. 'A,0' and 'A,1' , switches 0 and 1 on my controller 'A' which was controller '2'
before I had FSUIPC assign letters.

8=B66C0=0 CR(-C,6)A,0,CM25:120,100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl inc}-
9=B66C0=0 CR(-C,6)A,1,CM25:121,-100 -{Macro A2A_L049: L:ApElevatorControl dec}-

It is recommended that you allow FSUIPC to assign LETTERS to your controllers as they will not change
should Windows decide to change the number assignments if you had disconnected a controller or some other
event. FSUIPC creates entries in the INI that shows the letters assigned versus the numbers.
Once the letters are assigned FSUIPC will replace the number assignments in your INI file with the
letters as each section of code is read in when you fly the aircraft that uses that code. Here is my assignment table:

[JoyNames]
AutoAssignLetters=Yes //after FSUIPC assigns the letters you can change this entry back to the default 'No'

A=Saitek Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant
A.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8005-444553540000}
B=CH PRO PEDALS USB
B.GUID={E0590200-6113-11E4-8001-444553540000}
C=Saitek X45
C.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8003-444553540000}
D=Saitek Pro Flight Yoke
D.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8004-444553540000}
E=Logitech Dual Action
E.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8002-444553540000}

2=Saitek Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant
2.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8005-444553540000}
3=CH PRO PEDALS USB
3.GUID={E0590200-6113-11E4-8001-444553540000}
1=Saitek X45
1.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8003-444553540000}
0=Saitek Pro Flight Yoke
0.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8004-444553540000}
4=Logitech Dual Action
4.GUID={6B5A2B40-5A5C-11E4-8002-444553540000}

Hope my scattered info above dose not confuse you. I was almost done with the post when I realized what was happening. :)

Paul

User avatar
MatsH
Airman First Class
Posts: 62
Joined: 20 May 2011

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post MatsH »

Thanks! Got it working now!

/Mats

User avatar
Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3339
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Gypsy Baron »

Great. Enjoy !

Paul

User avatar
Nick - A2A
A2A Captain
Posts: 11313
Joined: 06 Jun 2014
Location: UK

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post Nick - A2A »

Mats,

Sorry for overlooking this one but we've now tracked down the issue with the input configurator and it'll be fixed in the next P3Dv4/v5 update.

In the meantime, apologies for the inconvenience but I hope you found the little detour into L:Vars and text macros instructive. Thanks as always to Paul for stepping in with macro writing advice.

Cheers,
Nick
A2A Simulations Inc.

alan CXA651
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2217
Joined: 15 Mar 2016

Re: Sperry AP pitch bug keybinds.

Post alan CXA651 »

Hi Nick.
I hope FSX will be fixed on this issue as well , even though i somehow doubt it will be , as many users me included have not or cannot afford to move to P3D , it would be a shame if it cannot be fixed .
I can afford to move to P3D but chose not to , till the A2A B17 and P47 have been done for P3D , and i also hope other ww2 warbirds will be done in the future by A2A .
regards alan. 8)
Image
Image
Image
Image

new reply

Return to “Lockheed Model 049 Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests