The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:58 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
Im working in a full working Comanche home cockpit.

I have made this prototype. It is a STEC 30.1 rev2 :mrgreen:
It works like the stec 30, but with a LCD display. Similar to STEC50 or Pro Pilot Autopilot style.

I have to decide if use this one, or make holes and put leds in my turn coordinator gauge to convert it to a near 100% copy of a stec30.

Here is a vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgJUYqLW27Q





Arturo.


Last edited by alioth on Sun May 21, 2017 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:17 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26271
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Beautiful stuff Arturo, great to see more fantastic creativity from more and more very talented simpit builders.

cheers,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
I like the circuit breakers simulation, and I want them made in my home cokcpit :)

This is my first full working prototype of one of them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ic8RdZ7zgUM



It is made with a solenoid, reed sensor, magnet, and a pair of springs
3d printer for chasis and mechanical pieces.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 2:06 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26271
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Holy moly thats amazing! 8)

Veyr very excited to see this thread evolve as you progress through your project, WOW 8) 8) 8)

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 3:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 187
Lewis - A2A wrote:
Holy moly thats amazing! 8)

Veyr very excited to see this thread evolve as you progress through your project, WOW 8) 8) 8)


No kidding. Bravo - excellent work.

_________________
"Spring Chicken to Shite Hawk in one easy lesson...taka taka taka taka..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 3:33 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
Thanks for your words!

Im ending a bendix king Ka51b, free-slave gyro mode.
My real HSI for the cockpit is a bendix king ki525a one. So, I have made its free-slave gauge, and I have manage to synchro the whole thing with Century HSI comanche.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SE3FmTnc8No




RMI and HSI compasses are synchronized.
And I can use free mode, and use the CW/CCW to synchro with whisky compass, or slave. In slave mode the drift is corrected at 180degrees/min, like the real one.
Everything working with the Comanche software. RMI, with adf and vor2 needles. Whisky compass, and everything in HSI, needles, flags, glide slope...
The only thing missing is the Ka51b needle indicator. I will do it, this is an easy one.
¿Does anyone know how many degrees of drift are needed to full needle deflection?

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:03 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36


Finally, full circuit breaker panel working!
I had to learn lot of things to get it.
Cad desing, choosing components, 3d print, electronics, programming...

Very happy to join all those parts and see that it works like a swiss clock :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 3:28 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
New toy for my cockpit:

Image

I will try to interface it in the next days.
Are bfo/ant modes simulated in perpar3d/comanche?

In the a2a comanche, I know I can select BFO and ANT modes. But does it really make something?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:47 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:56 am
Posts: 1410
Location: Poland
Since we plug the FSX audio for NDB morse code audio, not really, though I think ANT will disable ADF pointer.

Really nice panels, good job. :)

_________________
Michael Krawczyk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:05 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36


The first NDB tuned with my new (very old) narco adf receiver :)
The hardest part is already done.

More testing...
Reading values, and swtich position. I will only use ON / OFF in prepar3d, because ANT and BFO are not simulated.
I have made the "ant" and "bfo" hardware and software just in case in future..



I love it when a plan comes together.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:02 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
And finally... working with A2A comanche in prepar3d.




As NARCO 141 only has "active freq", and I only found the way to change "standby freq" in the 841 simulator adf, I wrote a script to automatically toggles the freqs when I change any number. So, its behavior is like It has to be. You are always changing "actives" frequencies.

It has inner lights. A beauty :D

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
I have been working with Transponder and Audio Panel.
I only had the faceplates of them. Not very complex... Lots of switches and rotarys conmuters and so on...

Here is the result:




Anyone knows if is it posible to listen the audio codes in Speakers AND/OR headphones in prepar3d? I have made the hardware to know If a code is phone or speaker selected. But I dont see the option in prepar3d. Perhaps it is a limitation.

Thanks for watching!

Next step... the yoke.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:33 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
And this is the actual state of things Done, and things To Do:

GAUGES
Air Speed Indicator DONE
Aittude indicator DONE
Altimeter DONE
Turn Coordinator DONE
Horizontal Situation Indicator DONE
Vertical Speed Indicator DONE
Vor2 with glideslope DONE
RMI DONE
Engine Monitor Vm1000c DONE
Fuel indicator DONE

Vacuum indicator .to do. Not sure if I will install it.
Clock .to do. Not sure If I will install it
Free/slave indicator Ka51b not finish. I will change it to a Ka51a
Whisky Compass DONE
warning annunciator .to do

AVIONICS
Audio Panel DONE
Transponder DONE

GTN750 .to do
NAVCOM2 .to do
ADF DONE
Autopilot DONE

DME .to do. Not sure if I will install it.

CONTROLS, SWITCHES
yoke .to do
rudder pedals .to do
throttle quadrant .to do
fuel selectors DONE
vent/heat/defrost DONE

primer .to do
gear switch and indicator .to do
power key DONE
elevator trim and indicator .to do
rudder tim and indicator .to do
flap switch and indicator .to do
carb heat lever .to do
parking brake lever .to do
general switches (lights, pitot..) .to do
Circuit Breakers. DONE

GENERAL
cockpit structure DONE
panel cut .to do
mount everything in the panel .to do


Exactly one year ago I was thinking "ey.. I could build a cockpit..."
Lot of work and time building the cockpit, but lot of work and time learning everything I need to build the cockpit too.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:54 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
Vacuum gauge will help you to monitor your vacuum pump/pumps :mrgreen:

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS, J3 Cub, T6, Connie


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:12 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 36
Some updates...

Image

Image

I have made a warning panel for the A2A comanche cockpit:

-Stall warning. If stall warning circuit breaker jumps, it won't switch on :)
-Push to test button
-Dimmer. Day and night position. With two pots you can set the brightness you want for day and night position.
-Oil pressure
-Low vacuum. So I think I wont make a suction gauge.
-Gear. It blinks if on ground and switch up. Or more than 150knts and switch down. Or flying and throttle less than 10 percent.
-Fuel Pump. Green if switch on and working. Red if switch on and not working (circuit breaker jumped).
-Pitot heat. Green if switch on and working. Red if switch on and not working (circuit breaker jumped).

Nothing works if low bus voltage.
Everything 3d printed, and working with arduino.

I will put a video.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group