The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:35 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26275
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Anything in the maintenance hangar for the aircraft and also can I ask how you are loading the aircraft, are you first loading a default aircraft?

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:52 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hi Lewis:

Yes, I did several complete overhauls in the maintenance hanger and I always open the sim with the default Lockheed Raptor at Eglin.

Thanks,

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:34 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26275
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Can you let me know the install location for your Accu-sim aircraft

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:31 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Lewis:

All three of my A2A aircraft are located as follows: Local Disc (C)/Users/Dennis/Documents/Prepar3Dv4Add-ons/A2A/SimObjects/Airplanes.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:38 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26275
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Okie dokie, how are you loading the 182? What happens if you first load a default aircraft. Can you let me know the name of your P3D download version too. With no one else reporting any issues I suspect some control issue with your setup or a P3D that isnt correctly updated (ie has some old elements still in it).

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:44 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Lewis:

I load from a task bar shortcut.UTL opens, then terrain data and scenery load. Default start up is a Lockheed Beech 58 at Eglin. My P3DV4
version is 4.1.7.22841. I have noticed as I have taxied the 182 recently, the turning radius has actually improved somewhat. Still not as tight as the
180 or the 250 but better than it was a couple of weeks ago. Also, I can't see the front wheel turning much in a front end view like I can in the other A2A aircraft.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:16 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5231
Sounds like your installation is fine Dennis. As Oracle427 noted earlier in the thread, you'll need to use a touch of differential braking for tight turns (for instance for a 180° turn on a 150' wide runway as mentioned). The Cessnas use a system of bungee cords to connect the nosewheel to the rudder pedals which is why the ground steering isn't as responsive as in the PA-24 and PA-28 which both use mechanical linkages to the nosewheel instead.

From an external perspective, you should see the nose wheel steering angle in the 182 increase significantly with differential braking.

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:08 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hi Nick:

Thanks for the response. You were right on regarding differential braking. I really hadn't had to use it on my other aircraft and therefore pretty much forgot about it.
Dumb mistake on my part. Using differential braking, nose wheel turns perfectly (and tightly). Thanks to you, Lewis and Oracle for helping me with this issue.
I'm a "happy camper" again.

All the best,

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:20 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5231
That's great to hear Dennis - you're always welcome. :)

Best regards,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 5:04 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26275
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Aha great to hear. Happy flying in the virtual blue

cheers,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group