The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:12 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hello:

I applied the Oct 12th download (fix) but the turning radius is still much larger than it was before the 4.1 update. The nose wheel barely turns. Anything else
I can do to improve the situation?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:07 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 2822
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
Are you running P3D 4.1? The update procedure to 4.1 does require the 4.0 to be completely installed petite to upgrading to 4.1 if you went the route of only upgrading the client.

If the airplane does respond to rudder input on the ground, then this doesn't sound like the typical 4.1 nosewheel steering issue. It is not uncommon to use differential being in the 172 to make tighter turns. This is the way the real aircraft functions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:06 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks for getting back to me. Yes I had V4 installed prior to installing 4.1. Prior to 4.1, I could see the nose wheel turn left and right from a front head on view. Now, it barely moves.
I cannot complete a 180 degree turn starting at the edge of a 150 foot wide runway without going off into the grass on the other side.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:39 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 2822
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
As I asked earlier, how exactly did you upgrade to version 4.1? The procedure must be performed correctly as per Lockheed Martin's instructions, or you may have a corrupt installation.

If you simply installed the 4.1 client over a 4.0 installation that may be the cause of your issues.

The Oct 12th patch only works with P3D v 4.1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:08 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hi again:

For clarification, I did not install 4.1 over 4.0. I downloaded a complete version 4 that included the 4.1 update directly from Prepared. This was done in late October 2017
and I worked with my computer source Jetline Systems to verify everything was done correctly. In summation, I am running a correct non corrupted version of P3DV4.1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:18 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 2822
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
So you have 4.1 and the Oct A2A patch applied from the sticky topic up above... hmmmmm

All default aircraft work fine?

How are your controls mapped? What type of control are you using and to what axis are the rudder controls mapped to?

Someone else reported a very similar issue and it turned out that the controls were not mapped correctly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:29 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Both default and all other add on aircraft work perfectly. I don’t use fsuipc so all controls are mapped through P3d. Rudder works fine it’s just the nose wheel. All other aircraft I can see the wheel turn fully left to right and conversely. The 182 and 180 barely move.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:55 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 2822
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
What axis is the rudder control mapped to?

Have you tried making through the A2A control configurator for each aircraft? I'm not 100% sure odd the configuratot provides for a rudder axis mapping, but I believe it does.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:29 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26274
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
If you went the full instal route over the update route, prior to running the full 4.1 installer did you fully uninstall 4.0 and all associated software?

Things from your description are pointing toward a corrupt P3D installation at present.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Lewis:

I had P3dv3 on my computer prior to installing a new version 4 installation which included the 4.1 update. All new version 4 downloads in late October included the 4.1 update.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:43 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Oracle427

I will look into that when back at my PC and advise. As I recall all the settings were standard but I will check it out.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hi guys:

Well now I'm really confused. Stopped back at the house and checked my A2A aircraft and now, the 180 nose wheel works perfectly!! Checked the 182 and still barely
any nose wheel movement. So it looks like this is just related to the 182 and no other aircraft. Should I re-install? Then download the patch again?

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
I also checked my 250 and as in the case of the 180 the nose wheel works/functions perfectly. Only the 182.
C an you please offer some guidance as to how to resolve this problem. The 182 is my go to aircraft but if
I can't taxi, that's a big problem!!
I look forward to hearing from you and thanks.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26274
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

just to check you are using the P3Dv4 182 and not a previous version?

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 182 Turning radius
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:08 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:27 pm
Posts: 31
Hi Lewis

Yes. I repurchased the 182 from PCAviator Oct 21 of this year and it was
definitely for version 4.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group