The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: lost my steering
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Anyone know why my Cherokee won't steer anymore? The animations on the pedals are working ok but she just won't turn anymore. I've see a lot of posts on this but didn't see any solution.

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline
A2A First Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 6152
Location: United Kingdom
You use P3Dv4 I gather LouP? In that case, it sounds like maybe you've updated to P3Dv4.1 which will cause the issue with ground steering you describe. The solution is to install the latest Accu-Sim update from here.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Thank you, Nick and thanks for the link. I am on 4.1 but I swear I did this once. My panel also reverted from having a rxp 430 to the plain radio panel. It's as if my pc did a restore and set back all my .cfg files. I am having security issues with other aircraft where they are transparent but were OK a while ago. Windows 10 has taken over and I feel like I have lost control over my PC.

Again, thanks for the link.

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
New that would be too easy lol. "Accusim.dll not found" grrr

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Just did a re-install and applied the update. Should be OK now.

Thanks again,
LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:14 pm 
Offline
A2A First Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 6152
Location: United Kingdom
Sounds good! Let us know if it doesn't work out...

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:44 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27556
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Sounds like something knocked your sim permissions area out of whack causing the issues you are seeing alround. Not sure Windows update would have ever done this, maybe run a full anti-malware scan just to be safe?

You may also have to relink add-on folders and or permissions for your sim (When you install a new aircraft that little pop up that appears the next time you run the sim may have to be clicked again to say yes).

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:53 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Thanks Lewis, yes something has changed but I'm having trouble figuring out what it is. I did a complete re-install of the 180 and then none of the controls would work so I completely uninstalled and reinstalled again and now I'm back to the point where the controls are working again but still can't steer. I'm going to apply the accusim update for 4.1 and see what happens next, it feels like a crapshoot. The frustrating part is that everything is working fine one day and the next day it's not. I have a friend going to similar issues where his control assignments just change at random for no reason. I've had this happen to me also so don't take all of this the wrong way and think I'm complaining about the A2A products. I think Bill Gates is running my PC.

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
OK, I applied the update to accusim and lost my controls again. So it seems to be the issue. I'm pointing the update to where the folder where the aircraft is installed, is this correct?

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 5:34 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27556
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
The update from memory should find the install for you so long as everything is installed correctly and the system restarted after installations.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:43 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Hi Lewis,

I see you found the thread. The update was pointing to my "C:\" drive for some reason and the aircraft is installed on my "F:\" drive under P3D add ons outside of the program folder. I let the updater do it's thing the first time I tried to use it and of course got an error that the accusim dll could not be found. I had to point to installer to my "F:\" drive manually but then none of the controls worked after that. Bill Gates does not want me to update or use this aircraft anymore, I guess.

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:36 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27556
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello LouP,

have you checked your controls in the sim are all mapped correctly or that the aircraft is fit for flight etc?

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 11:47 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
I think I may have found something after reading through some more posts here. I have all my controls mapped exclusively through fsuipc and this works perfectly for literally over a thousand other aircraft I have installed. I tried the Cherokee by mapping the controls through p3d without deleting the control assignments set up in fsuipc as it was a lot of work to set that up in the first place but the 180 still had no control functions working. Unfortunately, it would not be acceptable to have to remove the assignments I set up with fsuipc just for the 180 as this really works well for all my other aircraft. I am hoping that this is not the case. The fsuipc assignments worked fine before the 4.1 update steering fix and I am hoping the steering fix did not break the utilization of fsuipc. Please let me know if this is now the case with accusim as I was going to pick up the Comanche on sale but it would not be worth it if I can't control the aircraft any more using fsuipc. No hard feelings, it is what it is but I can't afford to re-purchase the Comanche (I purchased it for fsx already, but let's forget that here) if I can't use my set-up.

Thanks for all of your help.
LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 pm
Posts: 120
Well, I haven't given up quite yet and maybe this will be a help to others (maybe there's hope). I went into the maintenance hanger and it looks like the aircraft is just a mess and needs a complete overhaul. Prop is destroyed, battery is shot, brakes are shot, left and right landing gear need a major rebuild, both main tires are shot, the nose wheel needs to be replaced, and there are oil leaks. Problem is that nothing happens when I select a complete overhaul. I am able to modify the aircraft with wheel fairings but I can not overhaul the aircraft. Again, everything seemed to be working before the accusim update except for the steering.

LouP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: lost my steering
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:31 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3231
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
This sounds like a Simconnect problem. If you uninstalled P3D at some point, this may need to be reinstalled.

From the FAQ topic in the 180 tech support forum.

P3D - Installed but nothing works and all is broken!?

P3DV2 sometimes wont install the required simconnect files. No worries though as they are provided by Lockheed in the following directory;
\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\redist\Interface\FSX-SP2-XPACK\retail\lib

Once you install the Simconnect libraries, restart the PC and check the hangar to see if all is now okay.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group