The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:42 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:25 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Concord, CA
I'm having a strange prop animation issue which temporarily impact FPS ... but VERY drastically. For example on engine shut down I'll be sitting in my parking spot at 42 fps, then when I shut the engine down the prop animation becomes very choppy and the FPS drops down to 6 FPS ... once the prop animation stops it'll recover back to 42 FPS.

I've noticed the same issue with the C172R. Problem is present in v2.2 and v2.3 beta 2.

So far I have not been able to solve this one, graphics settings make no difference to the issue.

I've also noticed I experience a similar problem during flight if I cut the throttle way back ... prop animation seems to impact my FPS significant. The change in prop speed seems to causes FPS issues.

Part of my diagnostics was to use other aircraft (Alabeo, Carenado - even a twin) to see if I could duplicate the issue in those aircraft, but I was not able to. So far it's restricted to just the A2A C172R and the Cherokee. So I'm a little hesitant reporting this issue to LM given it appears to be A2A specific.

Any thoughts? Anyone else have this issue in P3D V2.x?

Cheers, Rob.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 3:46 pm 
Offline
A2A First Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 6347
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Rob,

Afraid I can't speak for P3D. (Only tried v2.2 for a month with the 'developer' licence and not with A2A aircraft, though may revisit if v2.3 seems to offer much better performance.)

However, I wonder if it's worth trying to eliminate the custom smoke effects as the source of the problem? Assuming they're the same in the P3D installation, maybe you could temporarily 'deactivate' all the "fx_a2a_cherokee180_????.fx" files in the 'effects' folders by moving them to a new folder elsewhere for a bit. I know the smoke particle effects make my FSX computer struggle a bit sometimes...

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:42 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:02 pm
Posts: 1136
Sounds more like the smoke particle FX that come out of the exhaust at specific times (cutting the throttle, or shutting down) might be choking your GPU if you have heavy antialiasing settings like SGSS. Deferred rendering engines + heavy super sampling techniques + multiple transparency layers (from the particle FX) = a VERY heavy load on GPU. Try eliminating your AA settings, just for testing purposes.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:25 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Concord, CA
Thanks for the suggestions all ... I did try different AA settings, including removing AA completely and the results were the same.

However, per Nick's suggestion I moved the C172R and Cherokee smoke fx files to a backup dir and that solved it.

Image

Now, here is the odd part ... I'm still getting smoke effects, but they aren't the A2A ones ... I don't know if P3D V2.3 beta is finding "alternate" default smoke effects and using those instead or is it possible the default ones AND the A2A ones are being triggered at the same time which might be the cause of my issue -- trying to animate multiple similar effects for the same action/trigger?

Cheers, Rob.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:05 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 7:08 pm
Posts: 18
Hi Rob,

I was getting the same symptoms as well and for the life of me I thought it was some cloud settings, ASN settings, TrackIR, etc. I then noticed that while turning and approaching 11S, I cut my throttle way back and noticed massive stutters. But when I began to add more throttle the stutters where going away. It does happen on both the 172 and Cherokee. I will temporarily move my smoke files as you posted here, thanks for this thread. This is on P3D as we'll.

_________________
WIN10 PRO 64-bit | Prepar3d v4.2 | ASUS Z370 Apex | I7-8700K @ 5.0ghz | DDR4 16GB 3200mhz | GeForce 1080 Ti | 960 EVO M.2 1TB/500GB SSD | H115i Pro | AX1200i | 900D | PG348Q 34-inch LED | TrackIR 5 | Brunner Yoke | MFG Pedals | VF TQ6 Throttle


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:25 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Concord, CA
Most welcome, I'm going to report this to LM also just in case they have some insight, but my "hunch" (and maybe the A2A folks can correct me) is that we should not be getting two animations - the default LM one and the A2A ones.

I'm not an aircraft designer so I don't know if the SDK allows for specification of just one set of smoke effects (rather than two). But I have seen similar issues with multiple effects being processed when there should only be one (specifically water spray, and upper atmosphere engine con trails being duplicated). Anyway, I'll bring this up to LM just in case.

Cheers, Rob.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:46 am
Posts: 221
Sorry for bumping up an old thread.

Rob, did you succeed in reporting this to LM? Did they reply anything encouraging? I observe the same problem in P3D v4.1, not as bad though.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group