Can't keep this plane in the air!

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
monkeysuncle
Airman

Can't keep this plane in the air!

Post by monkeysuncle »

Hi, I'm new to this plane, and I've been really careful to go through pre-flight, etc., and pay attention to my airspeed, and right-rudder on takeoff, all that good stuff. But I just can't keep it in the air for more that a few seconds before it goes down. My control devices are working properly, I see rudder, ailerons, elevators, flaps etc, all working in the exterior view. I'm ready to give up on this plane and find another c172.

Any suggestions?

Nick - A2A
A2A Captain

Re: Can't keep this plane in the air!

Post by Nick - A2A »

Hi Dave,

I had a read of your previous topic, so I'm assuming the issue is still relating to loss of control on take-off?

Please can you try to take us through the sequence of events for a typical take off attempt. For example, how is the elevator trim set? What airspeed are you becoming airborne? Are you pitching for a specific V speed such as VY or VX? Are you stalling? Is the engine developing power normally? Or is it a directional loss of control? If so, is there a significant crosswind? You mention in your other thread that you're training for a PPL, and there are plenty of real world pilots on the forum here, so speaking in these terms should help us to get a much better idea of what's going on.

Also, though you mention you "see rudder, ailerons, elevators, flaps etc, all working in the exterior view" are you 100% sure they're moving fully and in the correct sense, and centring properly too? And that there are no unwanted flight control inputs from something like toes brake axes. This is something that caught me out recently in another sim!

Thanks,
Nick
A2A Simulations Inc.

monkeysuncle
Airman

Post by monkeysuncle »