P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

As the title states, Version 5 of the sim is crazy unstable, Just looking at it wrong can cause a CTD/GPU driver crash. Its even more noticeable when flying the C172R i broke down and bought today. Changing views from cockpit to outside view or doing the walk around can cause the crash almost %100 for me. Running the default settings preset at 1080p Being sure not to exceed VRAM limits as this is known to cause a crash. Super frustrating as over the last week ive invested probably$500-600 in software a whole new Saitek Flight control setup/Yoke/throttle/mix/prop quadrant and pedals and the sim is about as stable as a tweaker looking for its fix lol. Its sure pretty though :D All other flight sims run perfect.

Specs are as follows
Ryzen 5 2700x Liquid cooled with PBO enabled
B450m Mortar Titanium Motherboard
16gb Gskill Trident Z 3000mhz RAM @3200mhz
Dual Crucial P1 500gb M.2 SSDs
Red Dragon Vega56 8gb GPU
Corsair RM 850w PSU

User avatar
lonewulf47
A2A Chief Pilot
Posts: 6328
Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Location: 1 NM east of LSZH

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post lonewulf47 »

Can't confirm. I have it absolutely stable with Bonana & C172. Have installed 300+ airports. For specs see signature.
Oskar

ASUS MAXIMUS XI Hero, i9-9900K 8 Core OC 5.2 GHz, WIN10-64Bit, 32GB DDR5, Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti Strix, 2x 2 TB SSD M.2, 1x 2 TB SSD, 1 monitor 4k, AS4, EFB on remote PC

Image

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

Hmm i notice you have an nvidia gpu, Have you by chance monitored your vram usage while in flight. Mine ranges from 2.5 to 4.5gb flying the bonanza or 172R. Ive herd crashing was less frequent on nvidia cards.

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31044
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post Lewis - A2A »

Hello,

whats your event viewer stating for the crashes, is it the same platform crash each time, is it different is it an Accu-sim or P3D file crashing?

thanks,
Lewis - A2A
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

So most of them say this

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.23.27820.0, time stamp: 0x5d0b2812
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x2518
Faulting application start time: 0x01d62459a3442698
Faulting application path: E:\Prepare3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: dabccf00-3859-4841-be76-659d3d2e3b79
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Every now n then i get this

Faulting application name: Radeonsoftware.exe, version: 10.1.2.1788, time stamp: 0x5e9f5ad0
Faulting module name: Radeonsoftware.exe, version: 10.1.2.1788, time stamp: 0x5e9f5ad0
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000000412967
Faulting process id: 0x1fd4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d62458b9848332
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\AMD\CNext\CNext\Radeonsoftware.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\AMD\CNext\CNext\Radeonsoftware.exe
Report Id: 7cea641d-f503-4c5d-8102-c7845fc233dd

Or This
The program Prepar3D.exe version 5.0.24.34874 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Security and Maintenance control panel.
Process ID: cc0
Start Time: 01d624587dcc9057
Termination Time: 27
Application Path: E:\Prepare3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Report Id: d382af34-505f-42a1-a452-973be8c376aa
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Hang type: Cross-process

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

Can also confirm firing up the sim. loading the 172R opening the walk around and going to the external views then back into the cockpit immediately crashes my sim/display driver

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31044
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post Lewis - A2A »

How you get on with various default aircraft?

And have you checked the settings are set correctly for your system?

thanks,
Lewis
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

djbully
Airman
Posts: 28
Joined: 13 May 2018
Location: Southampton UK

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post djbully »

Hi I'm also running an AMD system 3900x 32GB DDR4 @ 3600 - Radeon VII 16GB HBM2.

Are you getting the driver hangs without any other addons installed? like DXGI driver hang message?
EGHI

Image
Image
Image
Image

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

Pretty much most of the crashes are DXGI related. Default aircraft seem ok. Just loded the A2A J3 Cub and as soon as i clicked the hand start view i got a DXGI Device Hung crash, Also checked the settings which are running at the defaults/quite low, No problems getting a buttery smooth 60fps+ Just crashes the display driver when i change views lol. Tried undervolting/underclocking/overclocking/overvolting/maxing power limit the gpu with no change in crash causes/stability. Wondering if downgrading a gpu driver version will help. Im on the latest 20.4.2 driver. This install of windows was done about 8 hours ago. Only thing on it is prepare3d and DCS world lol.

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

I take that back default aircraft also crash when changing views from cockpit to outside to cockpit now with a DXGI error. So its not strictly A2A aircraft causing it

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31044
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post Lewis - A2A »

Might also be worth posting to the P3D support forums too if its a consistent AMD GPU crash with PBR enabled models on the platform.

thanks,
Lewis
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

RageShade1
Senior Airman
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post RageShade1 »

Will do for sure thanks Lewis.

ianfisher 101
Airman First Class
Posts: 92
Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Location: Clevedon. UK

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post ianfisher 101 »

Just to add my observations here. With the RXP GTN750 installed in the Bonanza and C-172 I get a CDT after about Ten minutes of flying in both Aircraft.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: panels.dll, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab35f8
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000489fb
Faulting process ID: 0x405c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d62464890f5633
Faulting application path: F:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: F:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\panels.dll
Report ID: 9cd70e84-53f8-4975-aa80-0f357dc6b594
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I have just gone back to the default GNS400 and I've now been in the air for 32 mins with no problems. Too early to tell for sure but with the panels.dll causing the crash it points to the RXP GTN750 as being the issue. I'm in the Bonanza at the moment. I'll fly thats for a few hours this aftrenoon then switch to the 172 and repeat.
Spitfire I & II : P-51 Mustang : L-049 Constellation : C182 Skylane : Comanche 250 : T-6 Texan : P-40 Warhawk : P-51 Civilian Mustang : Cherokee 180 : C172 Trainer : V35B Bonanza : Piper J-3 Cub

MarcE
Master Sergeant
Posts: 1074
Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Location: Southern Germany

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post MarcE »

RageShade1 wrote:
07 May 2020, 07:11
DXGI Device Hung
I see that your other sims work well... anyway: how old is your system? have you tried to clean it? I got the DXGI hung all the time in v4 and it stopped when I cleaned the dust out of my PC.. mostly GPU and power supply.
An antique aircraft is like your best friend's wife:
Look and admire...
BUT DO NOT TOUCH!!!!!!!

User avatar
Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 31044
Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: P3D v5 seems HIGHLY unstable compared to v4

Post Lewis - A2A »

best to start a new topic Ian as this thread ended up being a AMD GPU issue from the looks of it.

Where as your panels.dll issue is the exact issue I myself have experienced with v5.

cheers,
Lewis
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

new reply

Return to “C172 Trainer Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GioFly, jimjones and 2 guests