P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
User avatar
gege21
Senior Airman
Posts: 201
Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Location: FRANCE

P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post gege21 »

Hello, I'll need your help to know which FFB settings to change downwards in aircraft.cfg to decrease the joystick's return strength for ground roll. Indeed as soon as I reach a speed say 15/20 knots my joystick becomes brutal with movements from left to right more and more violent as the ground speed increases to the point that at 50 knots when taking off the joystick is almost to make jumps on the desk. For my personal feeling it's too violent and I would like to change down the right setting to be a little softer. On the other hand, after taking off, in flight, everything is good for the FFB. Thank you to all those who can put me on the right track to find an acceptable solution.
Friendly,
Gerard
P3Dv4.5 : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper Cherokee 180/Comanche 250/L049 Connie/Bonanza/J3 Cub
FSX SE : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper J3 Cub/L049 Connie

alioth
Senior Airman
Posts: 105
Joined: 01 Feb 2017

Re: P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post alioth »

I have a MSWFF2 joystick and forces were always really bad in fsx and p3d.
If you really want to feel good behaviour forces, try FSForce software http://www.fs-force.com/
it supports p3dv5
It is like night and day.

Arturo.

User avatar
gege21
Senior Airman
Posts: 201
Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Location: FRANCE

Re: P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post gege21 »

Yes hello I also have Dirk's FSForce software I used for P3D v4. I'll still try by modifying some FFB settings in the aircraft.cfg and especially the gear bumps and ground effects by lowering the strenght values only to see if it improves something depending on how I feel. Thank you anyway for your answer because if I can't find a more acceptable solution, I'll go back with FSForce.
P3Dv4.5 : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper Cherokee 180/Comanche 250/L049 Connie/Bonanza/J3 Cub
FSX SE : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper J3 Cub/L049 Connie

User avatar
gege21
Senior Airman
Posts: 201
Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Location: FRANCE

Re: P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post gege21 »

Hello, I go back on my tests of changes to the file aircraft.cfg but whatever I do, it has no results in the simulator. So I went back to using FSForce, which still seems better and softer depending on how I feel.
P3Dv4.5 : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper Cherokee 180/Comanche 250/L049 Connie/Bonanza/J3 Cub
FSX SE : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper J3 Cub/L049 Connie

User avatar
gege21
Senior Airman
Posts: 201
Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Location: FRANCE

Re: P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post gege21 »

Hello, I come back on this topic because I'm not satisfied with FS Force and I find that the FFB with DX12 is much more efficient and appropriate during flight on P3D v5. On the other hand on the ground/ taxiing is far too strong. So someone at A2A might tell me if the Force feed back paragraph in the A2A aircraft.cfg file actually has a connection with P3D FFB settings and whether it's dependent or independent. I use the DirectX option in the settings of P3D v5. Thank you for what you can clarify.
Friendly.
P3Dv4.5 : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper Cherokee 180/Comanche 250/L049 Connie/Bonanza/J3 Cub
FSX SE : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper J3 Cub/L049 Connie

User avatar
gege21
Senior Airman
Posts: 201
Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Location: FRANCE

Re: P3D v5 and Force Feed Back with a Sidewinder FFB Joystick

Post gege21 »

Hello sorry for occupying too long on this subject, but I discovered using the default in game P3D v4 or v5 FFB options, only for ground surface FFB, unplug off my MS Sidewinder FFB2 from the USB port then plug in it again when a scenario is active, for ground surface FFB they become again lowered at a normal level not too strong not too weak.
So I don't know how the FFB filters are handled or their data are stored but doing a unplug then plug again solve what I was asking for.

Sorry for my insistance but feel free to discuss about this particular subject if you have some knowledge on this FFB domain to explain us how the FFB data are sent or are stored for a better understanding of their behaviours.

Friendly
Gerard
P3Dv4.5 : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper Cherokee 180/Comanche 250/L049 Connie/Bonanza/J3 Cub
FSX SE : C172R Trainer/C182/Piper J3 Cub/L049 Connie

new reply

Return to “C172 Trainer Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GioFly and 4 guests