BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Battle of Britain "Wings of Victory"
User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 67
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Hi D'Ace, I don't know if it will help you solve your problem but when you get a fresh Windows 8 / 8.1 /10 and want to play old games is recommended to install DirectX 9.0c (It's already included in this Windows 10 Patch) and all Visual C++ versions from 2005 to 2019 to fix problems related to "msvc" .dll files (You have to install both x86 and x64 for each version even if your system is 64bit). Also is recommended to install and activate .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1

You can download "Visual C++ Redistributable Runtimes All-in-One" here:

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/vi ... ll-in-one/

Then download and manually activate ".NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1" as showed in this video tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcRh4c4oIwg

(And just an update, it's also recommended to install a video and audio full codec like "K-Lite Codec Pack" for the game be able to run the videos without crash)

Good luck! ;)
Last edited by Felizpe on 03 Jun 2020, 17:10, edited 1 time in total.
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

D'Ace
Airman Basic
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 May 2020

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post D'Ace »

Thanks again Felizpe, no luck.

I will try in some other PC, just to see if my files are right, and wait till I can change graphic card. By the way, GTX 1060. Thankyou for everything!

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 67
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

I recently found out when you play BOB2 for the first time with your Joystick plugged the Joystick-Autoconfiguration system keeps the setting saved and so "Mouse as Stick Config" addon may not work properly. So to remove your Joystick setting and use Mouse as Stick follow these procedures.

1-First unplug your Joystick from your PC

2-Then install "1-Mouse as Stick Config by Felizpe.rar" addon

3-In game main menu go to "Options" / "Controls"

4-Change "Input Device" to Mouse

5-Then click at "Custom"

6-Change Throttle to "Keyboard"

(To change Throttle to "Keyboard" you have to click over "Mouse: Wheel" value so it will be red highlighted then move slowly your mouse to "Clear Axis" button and click over it. You have to move slowly cause if you move your mouse fast it will set the value to "Mouse : Y Axis")

7-Change Gunner Azimuth to "Mouse : X Axis"

(To change Gunner Azimuth to "Mouse : X Axis" just click over "Keyboard" value and move fast your mouse to Left or Right direction so it will set "Mouse : X Axis")

8-Change Gunner Elevation to "Mouse : Y Axis"

(To change Gunner Elevation to "Mouse : Y Axis" just click over "Keyboard" value and move fast your mouse to Up or Down direction so it will set "Mouse : Y Axis")

9-Click at "Continue" and click "Yes" to Save changes and it's done!

I also uploaded a video to help:

https://youtu.be/KbbfTuzvnZg
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 67
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

For all Chaps that don't have the original 2.0 CD Release but want to install this Windows 10 Patch over a digital 2.06 version like A2A Store version or Matrix Games version, here is a fix:

(This is just a fix you still need to download the full BOB2 Windows 10 Patch)

DOWNLOAD LINK: https://www.mediafire.com/file/g4ud7xcz ... n.rar/file

p.s: Just a note if you are using Matrix Games version, both BOB2 Windows 10 Patch and this Fix have to be installed in Matrix Games directory at:

C:\Matrix Games\Battle of Britain II Wings of Victory
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

User avatar
heinkill
BDG
Posts: 1878
Joined: 18 Sep 2005

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post heinkill »

Have just had a rather mixed experience jumping back into simming, provoked by the release of MSFS 2020, which I would give an 8/10, but overall do enjoy.

https://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ ... ost4535344

However I also took a punt on the new DLC for Cliffs of Dover, Desert Warfare and while there has been some impressive work done bringing a new map, new kites into the game and new ordnance, the AI in that sim is deal-breaker for me. AI, if it does engage, which is a minor miracle, just fires long poorly aimed continuous bursts and then bugs out. If you get onto the tail of an AI 9 times out of 10 it just rolls randomly around until you knock it down.

So it has given me a big hunger for the real dogfighting fun I remember from BOB2. I plan to uninstall Cliffs of Dover and reinstall BOB2 with your apparently wonderful Win10 patch.

Some questions:

- I understand this updates an early version of the game. Are any of Buddye's amazing AI fixes included in this update or can they be incorporated somehow?
- The many updates to the campaign engine ... are they included in any way?
- How about gfx upgrades to objects etc?
- Does it work with multiskin?

These are not deal breakers for me, just hoping is all...

Fred
Looking for BOB missions, campaigns, and historical resources?

http://bobgamehub.blogspot.com

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 67
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Hi Heinkill thanks for the message! Really liked MSFS 2020 graphics ;)

Well let me try answering your questions based in my limited knowledge about the source code

1-All AI fixes were made inside bob.exe, so it's not possible to edit the .ccp source files inside it. I think I know how to fix bob 2.13 executable using a method by replacing the .ccp files from 2.13 for the ones from 2.0 or 2.01 version till find the incompatible code but unfortunately nobody has 2.0 or 2.01 source code.

2-As all campaign fixes were made inside a .ccp file inside bob.exe executable so it was not possible to use any of them. The only good side from 2.01 campaign AI comparing to 2.13 is that it doesn't have a rare bug where a whole RAF fighter squadron flies like bombers without losing formation when atacked so if you are playing with Luftwaffe it's pure static turkey shot. It never happens with 2.01 exe.

3-I tried adding 2.13 objects to 2.01 but faced two main problems, one was about drawdistance where objects disappear and appear in front of you like magic, I have a video showing that in this same topic. Another problem is that new objects need a new "dir.dir" file that has a different internal structure not accepted by 2.01 bob.exe. I think there is some code in "Fileman.cpp" inside 2.13 bob.exe responsible for the executable reads the new dir.dir files.

4-Inside 2.13 bob.exe there is a .ccp file called "multiskin.ccp" that 2.01 executable doesn't have, so all multiskin codes responsible to read the files inside multiskin folder are inside the source code compiled in 2.13 executable.

Hope someone could fix that someday, I really miss all 2.13 features ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

new reply

Return to “BOB2 General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests