BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Battle of Britain "Wings of Victory"
rogeroger
Senior Airman
Posts: 249
Joined: 13 Aug 2016

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post rogeroger »

Great stuff!
Thanks for the great work on this Felizpe. I still have win7 installed , but it's nice to have this patch for a possible future upgrade. :D

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Thanks for the comment rogeroger! Let's keep the engines running ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Hi Chaps, Bob2 Windows 10 Patch has been updated to Version 4. Let's get it, Tally-Ho! ;)

V.4 Change List (28/12/2019):

-New WW2 Propaganda Posters Campaign Background
-New Replay Menu Background
-New Fly Menu Background
-New Tree type
-Improved Gunsight and Bullet Textures
-Activated "Bullet_DragGravity=ON" for more realism
-Edited some Mouse as Stick config keys
-Added DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010) to Installer file

Image

Image

Image

Image

(ALL DOWNLOAD LINKS WERE UPDATED TO VERSION 4 ON FIRST POST)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

rogeroger
Senior Airman
Posts: 249
Joined: 13 Aug 2016

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post rogeroger »

Felizpe

I managed to successfully port all 2.13 objects into 2.09 quite a while back, so I vaguely remember what I did.

The same process" may" work for 2.01.

The folders with the asterix I am almost positive need to be copied across, the others you can always remove if if they don't work. First remove the originals from bob2 main to a safe place.
COCKMASK
COCKPM16*
GridData*
GRPBIN*
GRPBIN2*
IMAGEMAP*
IMGMAP16*
Landmap2*
Landmaps*
Landscap*
MASKMAP*
MskMap16*
BFIELDS*
ObjectAdds*
SHPBIN*
ShpBin2*
ShpBin4*
ShpBin5*
ShpBin6*
ShpBin7*


Very Important!! The COMMON.DIR FILE IN 2.01 BOB2 MAIN needs to look like this:

Code: Select all

16 4 shpbin3
17 4 shpbin4
18 4 shpbin5
19 4 shpbin6
20 4 shpbin7
50 4 videos
51 4 stills
52 4 savegame
55 11 stdprof
53 11 stdprof
54 4 userprof
70 4 meditor
71 4 h
113 11 text
140 12 landscap
143 4 griddata
150 4 landmaps
151 4 imagemap
152 4 maskmap
153 4 cockpits
154 4 imgmap16
155 4 mskmap16
156 4 cockmask
157 4 cockpt16
158 4 cockpm16
160 4 landmap2
170 4 shpbin
171 4 shpbin2
172 4 grpbin
173 4 grpbin2
141 10 frontmap
142 10 frbigmap
201 4 libcode
117 4 keyboard
240 4 map_16a
241 4 map_16b
242 4 map_16c
243 4 map_16d
244 4 map_32a
247 4 map_64p
Copy lines 16 to 20 from 2.13 to 2.01 COMMON.DIR

bob2 2.01 will "hopefully" now recognize the extra shpbin folders which contain the 2.13 object 3d models, and the 2.13 texture folders. If I remember correctly the GRPBIN
GRPBIN2 and BFIELDS folders are responsible for target object placements and objectadds for the rest of the objects.

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Hi rogeroger very useful information the idea to add new model folders to COMMON.dir, I will try it ;) Just hope the game reads it without any Fileman.cpp code edition inside bob.exe file

Some months ago I tested replacing some ShpBin and ShpBin2 model files for the new 2.13 models like cows and many ground objects but I found out 2.13 objects need new codes inside bob.exe for the new lod draw distance system. Cause 2.13 objects become invisible using 2.01 exe when you distance yourself 2 miles from it, like the hangars become invisible and it's so weird. So some coding is necessary first for the objects work properly.

Any new idea or contributions are apreciated chaps!

UPDATE: I uploaded a video for you understand the draw distance bug using 2.13 Hangars:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eT1KcB1pC-Y
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

rogeroger
Senior Airman
Posts: 249
Joined: 13 Aug 2016

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post rogeroger »

I still have the 2.09 bob2 main folder and it works perfectly, I was able to play the raf campaign.

As far as draw distances go, in the past I created a Westminster Abbey model and modular harbour sections which I used to create harbours at margate, ramsgate,Portland and some other places, as well as some large railway platforms which can be found on page 61 of subscriber mods(RR UPDATE 3.ZIP). To get the models and textures into the sim I had to use the BDSK package. Initially this was no easy task as the wasn't adequate documentation. I remember having to add all model, texture and draw distance info to a dat file which the package used to create a bin file which was placed in a shpbin folder, so each bin file contains draw distance info for each model.

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Maybe if there was a tool to extract .bin model files there would be a way to fix model lod bugs or bugged damage plates on new Hurricane or Bf110 models ;)

During some tests trying to add new model folders I'm having many crashes linked to fileman.cpp source code. it seems SHPBIN dir.dir files from 2.13 Patch are different in size and structure having more lines compared to old 2.01 bob.exe and the game is not reading it...

Another thing I noticed is that 2 miles draw distance is not a bug since it also happens in 2.13 Patch. So I found out 2.01 Patch objects use 5 miles for Draw distance and Patch 2.13 only 2 miles.

For now what is possible is to replace many SHPBIN and SHPBIN2 models for 2.13 ones using original dir.dir files but as I don't have a tool to find out the texture used by the model it's a hard task :D
Last edited by Felizpe on 30 Dec 2019, 21:55, edited 1 time in total.
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

User avatar
PV
BDG
Posts: 5162
Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the tundra, Canada

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post PV »

Hey Felizpe, seems like you are doing a fantastic job on this stuff. I don't know what use you can extract from it,
but short of having a coder to talk to, you may derive benefit from access to our "Beta Test" forum, which doubles
as the BDG dev forum. It doesn't get much traffic these days, but it is a fantastic archive, which has 15 years of
documentation (though the demise of the big online free image hosts means a lot of the valuable images are no
longer visible). I have the ability to make this happen, if I can find my notes and follow them successfully. If so,
at some point soon you should see a new forum available under the BoB2 section. Hope you can get some value from
it.

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Thanks for the message PV, finding additional documents about bob2 patch development would be really nice! All the coding processes are still a mystery for me ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Just a note for who downloaded last Version 4, I reuploaded all Download Links yesterday 31/12/2019 cause I fixed a bug that was not allowing this patch to be installed over a bob2 installed in other directories like Program Files (x86) or any other directory. I noticed the game file responsible to link Registry to the Game folder location is "roots.DIR" file located inside Battle of Britain II folder, so I just removed this file from this Patch. Now it will use the original "roots.DIR" created during your CD game installation so if you installed the game inside Program Files (x86) or other directories it will work.

I also made "DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)" to automatically run at the the end of this Patch Installation, so windows 8 / 8.1 / 10 users please remember to install it since it's needed for the game runs on modern systems.

Happy New Year Chaps, Let's cut some cake! ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

Boreas
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 452
Joined: 07 Jan 2007

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Boreas »

This looks very interesting. Happy New Year to all!

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Thanks Boreas! ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

easygrip
Airman Basic
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jan 2020

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post easygrip »

I have Version 2.03 on my installation CD, is there any way to downgrade to 2.01 so I can use this patch on my windows 10 computer

User avatar
Felizpe
Airman First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Location: Brazil

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post Felizpe »

Hi easygrip this Patch works over 2.0 , 2.01 , 2.02 and 2.03 without problems, so you don't have to downgrade it. This patch must not be installed over 2.04 foward since these versions are not compatible with 2.01 bob.exe causing many bugs.

Good hunting and watch you six ;)
"Just wanna live enough to tell my grandson I was a BOB2 Ace"

easygrip
Airman Basic
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jan 2020

Re: BOB2 WINDOWS 10 PATCH (RELEASED)

Post easygrip »

Thanks!! I will give it a try!!

new reply

Return to “BOB2 General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests