The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 10:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Comanche jacks p3d v4.2
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:34 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
Hi all

I just wanted to ask you if perhaps you've seen this happen.

i just did a belly landing on langley afb in the comanche while everything was turned off and then tried to put the plane on jacks, they showed as they should however the plane slowly but surely started to shift its position in space as if gravity was turned off, i got everything repaired post haste, played with slew mode + turned the battery on/off a couple times and the plane somehow reset itself so that i was able to put the gear down. Before that i couldn't put it on the gear.

Realism full, mesh set to 19 (per pmdg settings) no controllers plugged at the time, all mods added, first time something like this happened, never had problems with jacks after a belly landing before, maybe something p3d related ? Didn't check t-6 yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:23 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
I see now that Mr. Frankie1029 had a similar problem in an earlier post, but no working resolution was present.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:35 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27392
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

a new flight might be needed, have you reset your flight?

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:57 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
You mean by reset scenario key ? No, never used that feature. But i was able to get the plane stable and lower the gear by fiddling with the bat switch and slew mode, in the same session.

I just tried this belly landing again, reloaded the plane by exit/reload, it loaded fine, i put the plane on jacks, fixed the plane and left it for a moment, the plane was crooked again, couldn't lift the gear, even though i was on jacks, but i was able to take them away, the plane landed on its gear assymetrically and hit the wingtip :)

To add, never fiddled with the default scenario, so there shouldn't be problems with loading.

Edit. It seems that playing with the battery while gear is up and the plane is on jacks can easily trigger this shifting. Didn't even need to belly land this time. When the bat button is pushed on or off, the plane visibly jumps on jacks and then starts shifting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:51 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
This is what happens after a couple of gear swings + some battery cycling:

https://ibb.co/fNj7P7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:35 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
Is this an acknowledged bug then ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Speaking of jacks, I had cause to use them on my Texan yesterday. Like an idiot I did a wheels up job on a grass strip. Of course I slid off the runway onto the grass. To my amazement the jacks just sank into the soft grass and no amount of swearing would bring the gear down. The only recourse was to leave the sim and restart.

It does, very quickly, get rid of smug mode. 'I have got this airplane well sussed' Oh yeah? Take that!

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:21 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
I think they got a bit wonky with the latest p3d releases, not only gear ups cause this but even some typical gear swings and a battery test can make the plane dance on them :) i just imagine a situation similar to when you put a car on a jack and it falls off it and lands on your foot :mrgreen: I'll be sure to wear steel toed shoes around the comanche for the time being 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:20 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27392
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hey Caldemeyn,

by reset I mean a new flight, from the GUI, not a previously saved flight. I got a slight bump with battery on but its very little, not had it sink in yet.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:55 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1739
[quote="Lewis - A2A"]Hey Caldemeyn,

by reset I mean a new flight, from the GUI, not a previously saved flight. I got a slight bump with battery on but its very little, not had it sink in yet.

Swinging the gear is fine, actioning the battery switch moves me backwards a bit...this is with the T-6 and in FSX-SE, just as another point of reference.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:08 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 885
Location: Poland
Yeah i've done that as well Mr. Lewis, i said that earlier 8), it doesn't matter if you restart the sim (i never use saved scenarios, its a broken feature when combined with complex addons, plus i never mess with the default scenario, so that everything can load as intended and i never load one plane on top of the other, always restart and flush the memory), i explained how you can obtain this effect and shown it on a pic, if you do a couple gear swings and manipulate the battery between gear up/gear down, the plane will start shifting on jacks, do i need to make a video next 8) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group