The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:38 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:39 am
Posts: 802
Location: Between KARR, 82IS, 3CK in Northern Illinois
I have beat my head until I'm silly (took about 3 nanoseconds) :roll: . Seriously, as many of you know, I have been doing scenery and repainting for years. However, nVidia did an update a year or so ago that did me in as far as creating metallic chrome spinners etc., all I get is very shinny gray with the nVidia GTX970 GPU and software. In researching, nVidia and others here on the forum tell me to go to the nVidia Control Panel and select FULL color dynamics in lieu of LIMITED. I cannot do that because the option is not available in the Control Panel/Change Resolution window. It apparently is a matter where all (0-256) RGB colors (especially R0,G0, B0) are required to make metallic (along with Alpha) and the nVidia solftware (latest and greatest and all of the old versions I can find) will NOT do all 0-256 RGB colors. nVidia Tech Support is telling me it is a product of the screen and I am telling them "Bull". It worked before and the monitor will show work that I did previously; it changed after an nVidia update and I cannot get back to a version that worked.

Now for the question: Assuming that nVidia isn't going to do anything about it, does anyone have a suggestion as to what software I can use to create the DDS files with a true ALPHA action to create chrome?

On the technical side: Photoshop CS6, Gigabyte MOBO, nVidia GTX970 GPU, nVidia 398.82 (latest) software plus many previous versions, nVidia DDS conversion software from P/S CS6 to DDS files.

Additional thought (edited). Since I can see work that was done previously and that of others, the problem might be in the creation of the RGB (a.k.a. the Photoshop to DDS conversion). I'm totally open to ideas, my brain is fried on this one. The nVidia converter is set to 8.8.8.8 ARGB 32 BPP Unsigned, 2D texture, Save Flipped ON with no MIPs. I have tried several other settings without success.

_________________
Al Heline

Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:22 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28334
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
To rule out the plugin have you tried DXTBMP?

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:53 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:39 am
Posts: 802
Location: Between KARR, 82IS, 3CK in Northern Illinois
Lewis - A2A wrote:
To rule out the plugin have you tried DXTBMP?

thanks,
Lewis



Hi Lewis,

I had forgotten about that program. It has been years since I last used it, I'll try it this morning. Thanks for the reminder.

Al

_________________
Al Heline

Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:51 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:39 am
Posts: 802
Location: Between KARR, 82IS, 3CK in Northern Illinois
Thank you Lewis !

DXTBMP was the tool to find the problem. :oops: :oops: :oops: Turns out that the problem was actually with fresnel ramp corruption and not with the software at all. It apparently happened at the same time as an update, haven't figured out exactly how or why yet, but I have proven it to be the issue and I am back to getting chrome again.

Thanks again.....

Al

_________________
Al Heline

Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:43 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28334
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
woohoo good stuff :)

Look forward to the future repaints 8) 8)

cheers,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group