Basic Painting Questions

A place where painters can discuss and share their work
new reply
jimst57
Airman First Class

Basic Painting Questions

Post by jimst57 »

Excuse my ignorance, I'm just getting started with repainting and have a few questions.

I'm using Photoshop with the Nvidia plugins, and working on the C-172 paint kit.

When I open the .psd file, I get 5 basic layers groups:

mesh
alpha
don't paint
paint here
background

I do my painting in the paint here layer. So far so good.

Which layers have to be turned on (eyeball on) when I save to the .dds file?
If I turn on the alpha layer things don't work. When I turn off the alpha layer things work out, but the plane isn't very "shiny".

Also, there are MANY choices in the Nvidia plugin to save as. 8.8.8, 8.8.8.8, DX1, DX5, etc.
Which one is one I want?

Thanks, and again sorry for the basic questions. I'm having success, it's just the alpha layer thing confusing me.

jimst57
Airman First Class

Re: Basic Painting Questions

Post by jimst57 »

I seem to have some success if I go into the "Channels" tab and make sure all layers (Red, Green, Blue, RGB, Alpha 1) are turned on.

I then make sure the Alpha layer, in the "Layers" tab is off.

If I then save, using the Nvidia plugin, as a .dds (8.8.8.8 inverted) file, I seem to get the shine I want on the plane.

Is this the right way to do it?

bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant

Post by bladerunner900 »

The default dds file format for saving from A2A paint kits, is DXT5 ARGB 8 bpp / interpolated alpha, with no MIP maps, flipped vertically and using the highest Compression Quality. Also, ideally, you should copy your main texture edits over to the Alpha group in Layers as shades of grey, but for now you should be okay using the default Alpha channel.