P-51 Tail Serial number font attempt.

A place where painters can discuss and share their work
new reply
blackhawks
Technical Sergeant

P-51 Tail Serial number font attempt.

Post by blackhawks »

I know JanKees has done this in the past, and he posted a .jpg in the mustang forum, but I wanted to see if a psd version would be worth it to anyone.

I studied WWII pictures, the JK example, and another pic of the font I found at S.O.H. Starting with the base font: RAF_45D_841ATH.ttf , I've come up with this:
Obviously, two different styles of the "5."
I've taken this and saved it as a psd file. You can drag the layer and drop right into the paintkit. Again, not sure if this is just overkill, but maybe someone will find it useful. Mountainhighair and I have been talking about turning something like this into a .ttf font by its self. Not sure if/when he or I, or someone else will figure that out.

Here's the link to the psd if anyone wants to try it: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/91409118/P-51%20font.psd

This is pretty close in my mind, but I'm not claiming this is historically accurate.
Last edited by blackhawks on 07 Aug 2012, 19:08, edited 1 time in total.
-mike

Lewis - A2A
A2A Lieutenant Colonel

Re: P-51 Tail Serial number font attempt.

Post by Lewis - A2A »

Great stuff blackhawks, thanks for the work 8)
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat

mountainhighair
Staff Sergeant

Post by mountainhighair »