The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:00 am 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
Thanks, I will investigate this.

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:07 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
OK !

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:23 am 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
Are you sure the image you attached is the alpha channel? It looks to me like a RGB color.

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:22 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
yes - that is the alpha channel I used

p51d_t
Image

p51d_t alpha
Image

the skin P3Dv4
Image

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:57 am 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
Is this alpha channel from the paintkit we provide?

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:01 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
the alpha channel does not work in the official template, in mine or in anyone else's

I could use a black blank alpha layer and get the same result as a grey blank layer.

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:09 pm 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
So to make it clear, whatever alpha you use, black or white, you always get the same result shown on your screenshot?

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:35 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
yes - there is no noticeable difference, the effect is always too strong.

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:40 pm 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
Let's test a stock skin. Could you go to "texture.Blondie" and change the alpha channel to black or white. Can you see a change / result in the sim for this skin?

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:58 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
I can turn it off - I can't calibrate it, it is either on very strong or off.

but I can' really use your skin as an example - I have to be able to create skins with different textures, another example of a darker alpha

Image

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:53 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
any news ?

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:12 am 
Offline
VIP Partner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:27 am
Posts: 4551
I sent Rob a message as a reminder.

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:51 am 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
I mentioned Blondie because this skin has mixed reflective (fuselage, flaps) and non-reflective (wings) areas. Did you try to follow this setup?

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:37 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 893
there is no way I can manage to make a textured surface for this model - it is too shiny and even painted surfaces are too shiny as well.

_________________
Image

https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:27 am 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3532
Location: Bytom, Poland
Can you show the problems on the existing official skins?

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group