The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:14 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 3:18 am
Posts: 302
guillaume78150 wrote:
Carburator air : on


What do you mean? Carburator Air Leveler at 100% or is there a separate switch? :oops:

guillaume78150 wrote:
Check :
Carburator air : on See above
Mixture : idle cut-off (Check)
Fuel cut-off : on (Check)
Throtlle : 10/15 % (Check)
Tank selector : selected tank with fuel… (I know but I tried to start on an empty tank and it does not work well…) (Check)


Marcel

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:20 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1414
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
I just tried to start mine at 15°C, but in a slightly different way....
Throttle: Cracked
Fuel Shut off: ON
master battery:ON
Booster Pump: ON
Check Fuel Pressure: 18 PSI
Magnetos: BOTH
Crank and Prime.
Started after 5-6 seconds.
Mixture to RUN
Primer OFF.

So maybe a bit more primer?? My engine, except for the generator is in good condition, maybe a few worn cylinders will make it more difficult to start.

Have a look at this:

Sometimes they are a bit tricky to get up and running.

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS,
J3 Cub, T6, Connie, P-40, V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:31 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:07 am
Posts: 320
Location: North Burgundy
mgr wrote:
guillaume78150 wrote:
Carburator air : on


What do you mean? Carburator Air Leveler at 100% or is there a separate switch? :oops:


That's it, on the left under the arm rest, beside the carburator heat lever.
But, I found the engine is easily flooded. Don't prime too much
If it does not start, stop and wait for 2 or 3 mn. Then restart the whole sequence but without priming.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 3:18 am
Posts: 302
Hiya Guys,

Thanks for all the advise, think i found the problem in my case -> the 4 seconds prime before engine start, seems to flood the engine.

If i use "Tomas Linnet" method, so magneto's already engaged, then starting the engine, then start priming, when engine fires, mixture to run... YEAHHHH manual start!

Now off in my new private P-51D mustang the "PH-MST" 8)

Thanks everyone!

Marcel

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:53 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1414
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
I normally don’t start the engine that way, it was simply a way to make sure the engine is not flooded. This is the beauty of Accu-Sim, you get to know your aircraft, and when you get to know it, you get the hang of it.
Glad I could help!
Happy Flying as Lewis would say :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS,
J3 Cub, T6, Connie, P-40, V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group