The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Accufeel not in FSX Menu
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:06 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:32 pm
Posts: 36
This is an odd one. I have just done a complete reinstall of Windows 7 64bit, and am running FSX-SE on a separate SSD drive to the OS. I don't have P3d or any other sim on the drive, only FSX-SE. I have AV and firewall disabled and have dull admin rights. I have tried twice installing Accufeel once into the FSX directory and secondly into it''s own directory on the FSX drive but separate to the OS drive. For some reason it is not showing in the addons FSX menu. The other thing that happens, is that when FSX starts, I get the security warning message asking for me to accept the install. Help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:56 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28080
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

I would check the FAQ here;

Quote:

Troubleshooting FAQ

Here is the start of a Troubleshooting FAQ for new users. If anyone has anything to add, please just post and we will add it.

REQUIREMENTS
Your Microsoft Flight Simulator X must either up to Microsoft FSX Service Pack 2 or the Microsoft Acceleration expansion pack installed.
If you do not have either, then first install Microsoft Flight Simulator X Service Pack 1:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... aae2f0409e
Then the Service Pack 2:
http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Page ... Pack2.aspx
(The Windows user must have ADMIN rights before installing the product)


In Game Settings / Customize
Realism:
Aircraft Stress Causes Damage - UNCHECKED


Microsoft Security Essentials Users
If you have Microsoft Security Essentials, be sure to make the exception as follows:
Image




TROUBLESHOOTING
I get a "Bad Argument #2" error every few minutes
This is a known issue that happens if you move your CLEAR AIR TURBULENCE slider to the extreme right. To fix this make sure you download the latest update (v2.091) here;
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=34173


The FSX Add-On / Accu-Feel Setup pull down menu is missing.
1. Using a text editor like Notepad, open your C:\Users\[YOUR USER NAME]\Appdata\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dll.xml file and verify these entries exist:
(If you cannot find the dll.xml, In WINDOWS, open your CONTROL PANEL / Appearance and Personalization / Folder Options / View / then click on "Show hidden files, folders, and drives)


<Launch.Addon>
<Name>A2A Feel</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\A2A_Feel.dll</Path>
<DllStartName>module_init</DllStartName>
<DllStopName>module_deinit</DllStopName>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>AccuFeelMenu</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
<Path>Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

2. Open your [FSX Install] / Modules folder and verify that these two dlls are there:
- AccuFeelMenu.dll
- A2A_Feel.dll

NOTE:
When you first ran FSX after installing Accu-Feel, you should have been prompted to load the new DLL. If you didn't receive this prompt, then Accu-Feel is not loading.


viewtopic.php?f=89&t=33313

It sounds like you may need to manually add the lines in or correct any errors. The syntax for the dll.xml in the sim is unfortunately somewhat known to become messed up and is very sensitive to syntax errors.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:54 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:32 pm
Posts: 36
Lewis - A2A wrote:
Hello,

I would check the FAQ here;

Quote:

Troubleshooting FAQ

Here is the start of a Troubleshooting FAQ for new users. If anyone has anything to add, please just post and we will add it.

REQUIREMENTS
Your Microsoft Flight Simulator X must either up to Microsoft FSX Service Pack 2 or the Microsoft Acceleration expansion pack installed.
If you do not have either, then first install Microsoft Flight Simulator X Service Pack 1:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... aae2f0409e
Then the Service Pack 2:
http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Page ... Pack2.aspx

(The Windows user must have ADMIN rights before installing the product)


In Game Settings / Customize
Realism:
Aircraft Stress Causes Damage - UNCHECKED


Microsoft Security Essentials Users
If you have Microsoft Security Essentials, be sure to make the exception as follows:
Image




TROUBLESHOOTING
I get a "Bad Argument #2" error every few minutes
This is a known issue that happens if you move your CLEAR AIR TURBULENCE slider to the extreme right. To fix this make sure you download the latest update (v2.091) here;
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=34173


The FSX Add-On / Accu-Feel Setup pull down menu is missing.
1. Using a text editor like Notepad, open your C:\Users\[YOUR USER NAME]\Appdata\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dll.xml file and verify these entries exist:
(If you cannot find the dll.xml, In WINDOWS, open your CONTROL PANEL / Appearance and Personalization / Folder Options / View / then click on "Show hidden files, folders, and drives)


<Launch.Addon>
<Name>A2A Feel</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\A2A_Feel.dll</Path>
<DllStartName>module_init</DllStartName>
<DllStopName>module_deinit</DllStopName>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>AccuFeelMenu</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
<Path>Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

2. Open your [FSX Install] / Modules folder and verify that these two dlls are there:
- AccuFeelMenu.dll
- A2A_Feel.dll

NOTE:
When you first ran FSX after installing Accu-Feel, you should have been prompted to load the new DLL. If you didn't receive this prompt, then Accu-Feel is not loading.


viewtopic.php?f=89&t=33313

It sounds like you may need to manually add the lines in or correct any errors. The syntax for the dll.xml in the sim is unfortunately somewhat known to become messed up and is very sensitive to syntax errors.

thanks,
Lewis



Hmm, OK Lewis. Thanks, I'll check it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 10:59 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:32 pm
Posts: 36
Lewis - A2A wrote:
Hello,

I would check the FAQ here;

Quote:

Troubleshooting FAQ

Here is the start of a Troubleshooting FAQ for new users. If anyone has anything to add, please just post and we will add it.

REQUIREMENTS
Your Microsoft Flight Simulator X must either up to Microsoft FSX Service Pack 2 or the Microsoft Acceleration expansion pack installed.
If you do not have either, then first install Microsoft Flight Simulator X Service Pack 1:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... aae2f0409e
Then the Service Pack 2:
http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Page ... Pack2.aspx
(The Windows user must have ADMIN rights before installing the product)


In Game Settings / Customize
Realism:
Aircraft Stress Causes Damage - UNCHECKED


Microsoft Security Essentials Users
If you have Microsoft Security Essentials, be sure to make the exception as follows:
Image




TROUBLESHOOTING
I get a "Bad Argument #2" error every few minutes
This is a known issue that happens if you move your CLEAR AIR TURBULENCE slider to the extreme right. To fix this make sure you download the latest update (v2.091) here;
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=34173


The FSX Add-On / Accu-Feel Setup pull down menu is missing.
1. Using a text editor like Notepad, open your C:\Users\[YOUR USER NAME]\Appdata\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dll.xml file and verify these entries exist:
(If you cannot find the dll.xml, In WINDOWS, open your CONTROL PANEL / Appearance and Personalization / Folder Options / View / then click on "Show hidden files, folders, and drives)


<Launch.Addon>
<Name>A2A Feel</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\A2A_Feel.dll</Path>
<DllStartName>module_init</DllStartName>
<DllStopName>module_deinit</DllStopName>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>AccuFeelMenu</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
<Path>Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

2. Open your [FSX Install] / Modules folder and verify that these two dlls are there:
- AccuFeelMenu.dll
- A2A_Feel.dll

NOTE:
When you first ran FSX after installing Accu-Feel, you should have been prompted to load the new DLL. If you didn't receive this prompt, then Accu-Feel is not loading.


viewtopic.php?f=89&t=33313

It sounds like you may need to manually add the lines in or correct any errors. The syntax for the dll.xml in the sim is unfortunately somewhat known to become messed up and is very sensitive to syntax errors.

thanks,
Lewis


Hi Lewis, got it sorted. Adding the lines in the Xml file and installing the update worked.Thanks for the help, appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:52 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:32 pm
Posts: 36
Lewis - A2A wrote:
Hello,

I would check the FAQ here;

Quote:

Troubleshooting FAQ

Here is the start of a Troubleshooting FAQ for new users. If anyone has anything to add, please just post and we will add it.

REQUIREMENTS
Your Microsoft Flight Simulator X must either up to Microsoft FSX Service Pack 2 or the Microsoft Acceleration expansion pack installed.
If you do not have either, then first install Microsoft Flight Simulator X Service Pack 1:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... aae2f0409e
Then the Service Pack 2:
http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Page ... Pack2.aspx
(The Windows user must have ADMIN rights before installing the product)


In Game Settings / Customize
Realism:
Aircraft Stress Causes Damage - UNCHECKED


Microsoft Security Essentials Users
If you have Microsoft Security Essentials, be sure to make the exception as follows:
Image




TROUBLESHOOTING
I get a "Bad Argument #2" error every few minutes
This is a known issue that happens if you move your CLEAR AIR TURBULENCE slider to the extreme right. To fix this make sure you download the latest update (v2.091) here;
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=34173


The FSX Add-On / Accu-Feel Setup pull down menu is missing.
1. Using a text editor like Notepad, open your C:\Users\[YOUR USER NAME]\Appdata\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dll.xml file and verify these entries exist:
(If you cannot find the dll.xml, In WINDOWS, open your CONTROL PANEL / Appearance and Personalization / Folder Options / View / then click on "Show hidden files, folders, and drives)


<Launch.Addon>
<Name>A2A Feel</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\A2A_Feel.dll</Path>
<DllStartName>module_init</DllStartName>
<DllStopName>module_deinit</DllStopName>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>AccuFeelMenu</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
<Path>Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

2. Open your [FSX Install] / Modules folder and verify that these two dlls are there:
- AccuFeelMenu.dll
- A2A_Feel.dll

NOTE:
When you first ran FSX after installing Accu-Feel, you should have been prompted to load the new DLL. If you didn't receive this prompt, then Accu-Feel is not loading.


viewtopic.php?f=89&t=33313

It sounds like you may need to manually add the lines in or correct any errors. The syntax for the dll.xml in the sim is unfortunately somewhat known to become messed up and is very sensitive to syntax errors.

thanks,
Lewis



Hi Lewis, as per my previous post, all seems to be fine now. Except when I start FSX I continue to get the security warning asking if I want to run the program. This happens every time I start FSX. Any idea how I can cure this? Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:03 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:32 pm
Posts: 36
No problem, got it sorted. Went into the Accufeel exe and altered the compatibility mode in properties to Win7. Seems to be OK now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group