The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:18 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 512
Location: Chicagoland
Sorry to worm in on the conversation, but I always learn so much from you guys discussing painting after a new release. I have a question: I'm not sure why, if using photoshop the whole way, you need to make the ALPHA a bmp? I leave it as a PSD, flatten it, copy the falttened layer and paste into that psd file's alpha channel. Shift + drag (to ensure everything lines up) that alpha into the full color PSD, delete the old (blank) ALPHA and it is all ready to flatten and use the nvidia plugin. Have I been doing something wrong? It seems to me, at least one less step in the whole process with no drawback, that I've noticed. I'm using photoshop CS4, not very different from other versions for what we're doing.

_________________
-mike

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:19 am 
Offline
BDG & A2A

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:52 am
Posts: 746
blackhawks wrote:
Sorry to worm in on the conversation, but I always learn so much from you guys discussing painting after a new release. I have a question: I'm not sure why, if using photoshop the whole way, you need to make the ALPHA a bmp? I leave it as a PSD, flatten it, copy the falttened layer and paste into that psd file's alpha channel. Shift + drag (to ensure everything lines up) that alpha into the full color PSD, delete the old (blank) ALPHA and it is all ready to flatten and use the nvidia plugin. Have I been doing something wrong? It seems to me, at least one less step in the whole process with no drawback, that I've noticed. I'm using photoshop CS4, not very different from other versions for what we're doing.


I used to do this myself, until I flattened the PSD then saved over it, losing my entire PSD. :)

Now I don't mind doing the extra steps just to be sure I don't do something stupid again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:23 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:18 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Lithgow, NSW, Australia
Instead of a massive 370MB + texture file is there any plan to break each one into 5 seperate files of each Main, Main Alpha, Spec and Spec Alpha?

At the moment it is very hard on my computer and takes forever to open. I have tried to break them up but seem to lose all the layers.

Cheers
Pat

_________________
Cheers
Pat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:36 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 512
Location: Chicagoland
ICDP wrote:
I used to do this myself, until I flattened the PSD then saved over it, losing my entire PSD. :)
Now I don't mind doing the extra steps just to be sure I don't do something stupid again.


I've only permanently lost one. I've screwed it up countless times... Luckily photoshop will let me hit flatten and save (by mistake), but as long as I haven't closed the window and I swear loud enough, I can hit the back button and undo the flatten and resave with the layers intact. I can't tell you how much I love (and apparently need) that feature.

Thanks again for the wonderful paint kit! The all 5 layers together is growing on me. It is wickedly faster at the end when you're ready to make the individual files. Cut and paste 10 times and you're done.

_________________
-mike

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:49 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:53 pm
Posts: 1463
Location: Hoeilaart, Belgium
OK, I'll try it again when I get home..

meanwhile, my two RAF paints are now on OZx, enjoy them!

Image

Image

_________________
Image

FS painter at the Hangar.
you'll find all my repaints here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 8:29 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:18 pm
Posts: 39
Location: ojai,california
i have a repaint request,would greatly apprciate it,i know its a newer version but would still look sweet.thanks in advance

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:38 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 807
started working on it - and although the size is big, it has its advantages, and the quality is what we've come to expect from A2A : outstanding

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:43 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:18 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Lithgow, NSW, Australia
I have given up on the paintkit.

I usually like to work with Paint Shop Pro which I have set to read the Photoshop format but it cannot handle this texture file and keeps giving me a "Not enough memory" message or "This file has unsupported ****** files and cannot be loaded"

Not only that with everthing in one huge file it is very hard on my eyes. I am in my mid 60s and have weak eyes and small bits get missed. I would prefer to see a file that is made into 5 separate files which for me would be much easier to work with.

And I love my painting now that I am a retired gentleman.

_________________
Cheers
Pat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:58 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 807
04rc51 wrote:
i have a repaint request,would greatly apprciate it,i know its a newer version but would still look sweet.thanks in advance

Image


looks like fun to do - going to give it a try

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:42 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:18 pm
Posts: 39
Location: ojai,california
^Cool man,thanks a bunch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:46 am 
Offline
Airman First Class
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 98
jcblom wrote:
I'm having problems just opening the normal file, 370 MB, it takes my poor computer about 5 minutes....


If you do a lot of photoshop work a SSD is a great investment. I've got the Intel 320 120GB for my OS and applications, and it loads the paintkit in a 1:20. I've only got a SATA II SDD, so a fast SATA III drive would load it in almost half that time. SSD's are by far the best upgrade you can make to a system right now to increas overall response, because pretty much anytime you are waiting on a computer these days you're waitng on the disk drive. With a SSD most programs open instantly. Photoshop elements is finished loading in 2 seconds or less.

_________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.1GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:04 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:47 pm
Posts: 2384
I have a request for a painter. if their is one here who would not mind doing a texture for me. I am posting a picture of the P-40s owned by the planes of fame air museum in Chino California and Grand Canyon Arizona.
I would like to get these textures for my WOP3 P-40.
Can someone please help.
The desert tan is a true P-40 trainer.
The green one would like done as a two tone camo green texture. both with the sharks mouth

_________________
Image
Image


Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:15 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:47 pm
Posts: 2384
Sorry guys. i tried to load p[icts but get the msg....Sorry the board attachment quota has been reached.....
Guess i will have to do without the paints.

_________________
Image
Image


Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:20 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26175
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Trucker, use an image hosting site such as photobucket and then post ont he forums using [IMG] tags.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PAINTKIT
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:47 pm
Posts: 2384
OK Trying this....Hope it works.[img][IMG]http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s495/trucker1762/DSC_5151.jpg[IMG][IMG]http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s495/trucker1762/3553501642_065613f661_z.jpg[/img]ImageImage
Image
Image
would like these paints done with an addition to the green paint( would like this one done as a two tone green Camo)
The brown camo P-40 is a true trainer.

Thought everyone might like this head on shot of the P-40
Image

_________________
Image
Image


Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group