The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: P-40 'Civilianized' Mods
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:54 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 1484
Location: KAPC
Hey guys, I finished wrapping up the civil Autopilot mod for the P-40. This process should work for the Spit and Mil P-51 as well. Got permission from the author to upload the mod.

screenshot
http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/ima ... /XNhxv.jpg

Download here;
https://docs.google.com/uc?export=downl ... 01iZzRLZ3c

****************
Readme info

A2A Autopilot Mod.

Original autopilot gauge by Jim Robinson.
Modification by TJ Stanley

This Mod was intended to 'civilianize' the A2A WOP3 P-40. It should also work for the Spitfire and Military P-51, or any other plane for that matter.

Install:
Navigate to your WOP3_P40 folder and open the aircraft.cfg. You may wish to make a backup of this file.

Locate the [Radios] section.
Replace with;

[Radios] // available, standby frequency, has glide slope
Audio.1=1
Com.1=1
Com.2=0
Nav.1=1,0,1
Nav.2=0
Adf.1=0
Transponder.1=1
Marker.1=0


Locate the [autopilot] section.
Replace with;

[autopilot]
autopilot_available=1
flight_director_available=0
default_vertical_speed=700.000
autothrottle_available=0
pitch_takeoff_ga=8.000
max_pitch= 10.000
max_pitch_acceleration= 1.000
max_pitch_velocity_lo_alt= 2.000
max_pitch_velocity_hi_alt= 1.500
max_pitch_velocity_lo_alt_breakpoint= 20000.000
max_pitch_velocity_hi_alt_breakpoint= 28000.000
max_bank= 25.000
max_bank_acceleration= 1.800
max_bank_velocity= 3.000
max_throttle_rate= 0.100
nav_proportional_control= 9.000
nav_integrator_control= 0.250
nav_derivative_control= 0.000
nav_integrator_boundary= 2.500
nav_derivative_boundary= 0.000
gs_proportional_control= 9.520
gs_integrator_control= 0.260
gs_derivative_control= 0.000
gs_integrator_boundary= 0.700
gs_derivative_boundary= 0.000
yaw_damper_gain= 0.000
default_bank_mode=1
default_pitch_mode=1


Next, open the panel folder and extract dh89a_autopilot.cab to here. Open panel.cfg. Again you may wish to make a backup of this file. I chose to add in the default handheld GPS. You can add it in if you wish as well.

Look at the following [window] sections, and choose which 2 you would like to replace (1 for GPS, 1 for AP) I personally chose [window00] (shift-1 in sim) for the GPS because I did not need to use the cowlflaps indicator popup. I chose [window07] (shift-8 in sim) for the Autopilot. Again you may need to choose different ones if you are installing this to the Spitfire or P-51. You might also wish to rearrange these to your liking. How ever you arrange it, just make sure the [window#] matches to the corresponding [Window Titles] entry.

In this case, replace the [window titles] section with this;
[Window Titles]
Window00=GPS
Window01=Clipboard
Window02=Mini Controls
Window03=Payload and Fuel Manager
Window04=Map
Window05=Radios
Window06=Maintenance Hangar
Window07=autopilot
Window08=none1
Window09=none2
Window10=dbg
Window11=none3
Window12=none4

Locate [window00] section and replace with;

[Window00]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=456,378
pixel_size=456,378
window_size_ratio=1.000
position=2
visible=0
ident=GPS_PANEL
zorder=4

gauge00=gps!gps,0,0,150,250


Locate [Window07] section and replace with;

[Window07]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=462,202
pixel_size=462,202
position=0
visible=0
ident=104
nomenu=1

gauge00=Dh89a_autopilot!nav1_radio, 0,0
gauge01=Dh89a_autopilot!Dh89a_autopilot_hdg, 154,0
gauge02=Dh89a_autopilot!Dh89a_ils, 154,141
gauge03=Dh89a_autopilot!Dh89a_autopilot_main, 306,0


YOu are finished!...go test it out and enjoy.


Copyright stuff. Don't sell the mod and please respect the intentions of the original author.

Questions & Comments
pilottj@sonic.net

***********************

I will post a strobe light mod when I get a chance to wrap it up.

Cheers
TJ

_________________
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 6:29 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 1484
Location: KAPC
Here is the strobelights mod
Screenshots
http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/ima ... /NpDXs.jpg
http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/ima ... 0/arqh.jpg

Download
https://docs.google.com/uc?export=downl ... FI1djJoZUk

From readme
**********************
A2A P-40 Strobe mod

Modification by TJ Stanley

This Mod was intended to 'civilianize' the A2A WOP3 P-40.

Install:
Navigate to your WOP3_P40 folder and open the aircraft.cfg. You may wish to make a backup of this file.

Locate the [Lights] section.
Replace with;

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit
light.0 = 4, -2.92, 0, 2.6, fx_WOP3_p40_vclight
light.1 = 9, 1.45, 1.55, 2.22, fx_WOP3_p40_Overheat
light.2 = 2, -17.4 , .40, 5.3, fx_shockwave_strobe_sm_2
light.3 = 2, -17.4 , -.40, 5.3, fx_shockwave_strobe_sm_2

The strobes used in this example are Shockwave strobe lights. If you wish to use different lights, simply change the reference in light.2 and light.3 to your desired strobe effects file.


For the panel, I created a switch for me, based on the default Baron strobe switch. If would like a different switch, open the panel.cfg of either the Baron, Mooney, Kingair, or another plane with strobe switch and replace my strobe switch gauge entry in the P-40's panel.cfg. You may not wish to have a switch at all and simply have your strobe light set to a keyboard command.

For my switch, extract the strobeswitch.cab to the panel folder.
open panel.cfg...back up if you wish.

locate [vcockpit00] section and replace with;
[Vcockpit00]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=256,256
visible=1
pixel_size=256,256
texture=$gauges

gauge01=WoP3_P40!code_m, 1,1,1,1
gauge02=WoP3_P40!status1, 2,2,2,2
gauge03=WoP3_P40!damage, 3,3,3,3
gauge04=accusim_xml!code_s, 4,4,4,4
gauge05=A2A_Accusim!lua, 5,5,5,5
gauge06=A2A_Accusim!AVS, 6,6,6,6
gauge07=A2A_Accusim!events, 7,7,7,7
gauge08=A2A_Accusim!random, 8,8,8,8
gauge09=A2A_Accusim!storage, 9,9,9,9
gauge10=WoP3_P40!number, 0,0,216,256
gauge11=strobeswitch!Strobe Lights, 216,0,40,45


The switch will be located on the bottom corner of the ID placard...the only place I could put it.

Questions & comments
pilottj@sonic.net

_________________
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:33 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 512
Location: Chicagoland
Thanks TJ, much appreciated!

_________________
-mike

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:27 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:49 am
Posts: 3
Very much appreciated.

Wonderful vintage AP/radio panel!

It also serves to illustrate how to change and A2A panel and still have all the Shift-1, Shift-2, ...Shift-x 2D panels show up!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:41 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:44 am
Posts: 814
Location: Cambridge U.K.
Pilottj ( or anyone else who uses it ), does the autopilot mod work on any aircraft ? I'm thinking of installing it in the Aerosoft PBY-5A, but if it's a non-starter, I wont waste my time trying.

_________________
The anti-awesome backlash. The anti-iconic backlash.

Pip Pip ! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group