The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 1:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:08 pm
Posts: 194
Location: KSEE
Last week , Paughco suggested a trip from Nakusp in Canada down into the US. If we follow the Columbia River, we get a neat little 200-mile trip ending up at the Grand Coulee Dam, with some great scenery along the way.

Plan to depart Nakusp, CAQ5, at 1900 Zulu (10pm EEST, 9pm CEST, 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, Noon PDT, 10am HAST . . . ).

Connect thru: JoinFS on The Skypark hub. Comms on Discord in the A2A community.

Lewis has posted help to get you flying, here:
viewtopic.php?f=79&t=62739

_________________
Cub, Spit, P-51 Civ, 172, Cherokee, Comanche, T-6, Connie, Jug, V35B(2B)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:20 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 12:27 pm
Posts: 865
Guys: Here is the mission profile:

Image

Show up at Nakusp (CAQ5) in time to be ready for takeoff at 1900 Zulu (12 noon PDT). I plan to be there in my T-6. CAQ5 is at 1,689 ft elevation with Rwy 12, 30 3,000 ft long.

Take off at approx. 10-second intervals from CAQ5, and follow Columbia River southward.

Visual waypoints include Castelgar (CYCG), the town of trail and Trail Airport (CAD4) (open your canopy and wave your passport at the border crossing 2 miles south of CAD4) and the Kettle Falls sawmill. Get ready for a right turn to follow Hwy 20 westbound, through the canyon and over Sherman Pass (5,500 ft). Soon after Sherman Pass you'll drop down to the intersection of Hwy 20 and Hwy 21. Follow Hwy 21 northward to Ferry County Airport (R49) 2,519 ft elevation with Rwy 17, 35 3,495 ft long.

Total distance is 167 nm, and should take about 1 hr 23 min at anticipated average airspeed of 120 kts. I plan to use clear weather, as real weather conditions in our planned AO are expected to pretty much suck all weekend.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:08 pm
Posts: 194
Location: KSEE
Sounds good. I'll take a T-6 too.

_________________
Cub, Spit, P-51 Civ, 172, Cherokee, Comanche, T-6, Connie, Jug, V35B(2B)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group