The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:28 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1429
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
For the last few online sessions we've had using JoinFS everyone in a Comanche was seen to be smoking like they've just been shot down! This does not apply to any other A2A plane, nor indeed to any other aircraft. We all questioned each other about throttle/mixture settings but no common denominator was discovered. I wouldn't mind, but taxiing behind one can drag the sim to it's knees!
Any clues anyone?

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:56 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1129
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
I see the same thing, not with the Comanche, but with Spitfires. I think I'm talking to Peter this evening, I'll mention it.

Nice picture signature you've got there btw. I think some of them is so big it's getting to much

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS, J3 Cub, T6, Connie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:46 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:35 pm
Posts: 5
Hi Ron,

Yes, I've seen this a few times. I'm quite sure that it's down to the way JoinFS updates the aircraft positions. Even a small jump in the location of the network copy of an aircraft can dramatically change the velocity of the aircraft and results in stress and damage. Obviously it's only the networked aircraft that are getting damaged, so it's not a major problem, as everyone's own aircraft will perform normally.

I'll be trying out some fixes for the problem, which should sort it out.

Best regards,
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:56 pm 
Offline
A2A Master Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 3124
Location: San Francisco
What I have seen is with the A2A B-17G in joinFS. When the "ATC" box is checked, which is the case if
you want to see other aircraft on your radar gauge or GPS equipped with radar display, you will
]see the '3 intensities' of B-17 landing lights continuously cycling from off to each of the next three
settings.

The landing light intensity in the B-17G is normally controlled by the current visibility using one of three different lights. The 'normal' FSX landing light command, the Logo light or one other which I forget at the moment.

That is why hitting the "L" key in a B-17G is a no-no inmultiplayer as it turns on all 3 sets of lights and you look like a miniature sun to other pilots in MP.

Anyhow, this effect in joinFS is annoying but not a show stopped for daytime flying.

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:43 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1429
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
It's comforting to know we're not the only ones. ATC box eh. I have missed my buddies on my GPS with JoinFS. Must have a look at that. Cheers.

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Smoking Comanches
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:24 am 
Offline
Airman Basic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:35 pm
Posts: 5
Gypsy Baron wrote:
What I have seen is with the A2A B-17G in joinFS. When the "ATC" box is checked, which is the case if
you want to see other aircraft on your radar gauge or GPS equipped with radar display, you will
]see the '3 intensities' of B-17 landing lights continuously cycling from off to each of the next three
settings.


That's right. The advantage of the ATC Mode is that you can then use your radar. The problem is that in order to get the simulator radar/GPS to 'see' the aircraft you have to enable the internal AI of the aircraft. This means that all the controls including the lights constantly get conflicting updates. The AI might decide that lights need to be on. But then the player's actual network aircraft has lights off, so you end up in a constant cycle between what the remote player is doing and what the local AI decides to do. Perhaps there's a way to cure this by updating more frequently. It's something that I'll have to look into.

Obviously with ATC Mode switched off, everything is fine, but you can't see them on the radar/GPS.

Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group