The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:12 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
I have both the fantastic C172 trainer and the amazing Cherokee 180. Are there any plans to offer the Spitfire for P3Dv2.X in the near future?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:45 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:25 am
Posts: 285
Location: Morges, on lake of Geneva, Switzerland
Do not worry, the Spit works fine with P3D v. 2.2 and 2.3!

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:50 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
That's excellent news, how do you install it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:45 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1205
Location: Wales
Copy the FSX.exe into your P3D folder, or make a copy of the Prepar3D.exe and re-name it to FSX.exe. Then direct the installer for the Spitfire and the Accu-sim pack into your P3D folder. After that, run the Accu-sim on-line updater to get it up to the latest specification and your done.

All the best.
Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:49 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
Thanks Steve for the info.

I have purchased both the Cherokee and the C 172 for P3DV2.x and if A2A are intending release a P3DV2.x installer for the Spitfire then I would be tempted to buy the current FSX version to try, but so far they have not indicated that thy will which is a shame.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:54 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28515
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

no plans to change the FSX Spitfire into a native P3D version at this time.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:32 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
Thank you Lewis for the clarification although I hope that this situation will change in the future. My main concern of course is that if I purchase the current FSX version to run in P3DV2.3 there is no guarantee that it will continue to run in the future with P3DV2.4 etc. I will try and hold off on this one but I must admit I am tempted to try it :)

John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: An island off the West Coast of Scotland
I've tried installing the Spit into P3d and end up with several problems...i end up with a 'Lockheed martin a2a' folder which has the Spit files inside.

Plus end up with sound problems...switches operate silently and have 2 engine sounds, one delayed by about 10sec...

_________________
Regards,

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:32 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
That's interesting, btw is P3D your main sim or is it fSX?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:06 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: An island off the West Coast of Scotland
I was slowly changing over to P3d.

I uninstalled both FSX and P3d also got the Migration tool.

Reinstalled P3d, installed the Spit, then Accusim then the latest update which also updated the Spit to V2...

Started P3d.

All is silent with the Spit, the switches, cockpit opening. Press the Engine start button, it moves but nothing happens, no smoke, no bang.

External view nothing happens, no sound. Press Alt 6 to get in the Main Hangar, but refused because the engine is running!

Pressed Shift 3 to try and start Cold and Dark...but that didn't help. If I select Auto Start, prop stay still but external views can hear the engine running but prop still. In cockpit all is silent.

Come to the conclusion that P3d commences with the aircraft engine running whereas WOP Spit engine isnt running.

How can I start P3d with the aircraft engine off and saved as being off?

_________________
Regards,

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:27 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
Have you tried the latest development version of the Estonia migration tool as it may help, see last posting http://board.flightsim.ee/discussion/37 ... ds-missing?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 10:07 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: An island off the West Coast of Scotland
Yes, I posted it!

Also tried installing and selecting FSX instead of P3d v2.

Then saw another thread, badly titled but described most of the symptoms I have or had had at various times over the last few days..the answer was to download and install the Spit only Accusim update!

All seems to be working now...

_________________
Regards,

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:54 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:59 am
Posts: 46
Location: Surrey, UK
That's good news, might be tempted to buy it sometime :)

Cheers John


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group