The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:13 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15041
Location: USA
We just released our Accu-Sim P-40 that includes a core update. If you are not a P-40 owner but own the Spitfire, here is the core Accu-Sim installer:


Accu-Sim Core Update v.1.1 to v.1.2

- Re-designed hydraulics
- Reduced the speed of outside canopy fogging up
- Aircraft can be jacked up
- "Check engine" in mechanic's notes will be persistent and not disappear after you have checked the engine
- Updated spitfire configurator so shortcut works
- Re-tuned side forces in flight model
- Added fuel line size differences for each aircraft
- Battery charging is a consumer
- Fixed bug that may have been responsible for unrepariable hydraulic leaks
- Made adjustments to the detonation. It is more sensitive to higher CAT
- Spitfire has mechanical gear locks
- Radiator lever control works and sounds better when mapped to an axis
- Added additional fuel system modeling. Fuel first has to drop from tanks, then the fuel pumps need to pump and pressurize the system
- Gear repairs on ground puts plane on jacks and repairs
- Coolant consumption bug fixed
- Autostart primes fuel
- Engine heat damage after shutdown fixed (this was another bug)
- Humidity goes to 0 when air is freezing
- Battery doesn't drain when switch is off (Spitfire battery is always ON)
- Hydraulic pump failure fixed
- Smoother landing gear animation
- Random prop start position
- Engine wind-down friction tuned (9 sec for merlin to stop after mixture cut)
- Can now start engine on primer alone
- Code supports broken reduction gear (may not implement until P-51)
- Busted crankshaft will seize engine
- Fixed bug when touchdown sounds are heard in air under very high G load
- Fixed the way the engine sucks fuel into cylinders.
- Oil friction tuned
- Detonation system re-calibrated
- High speed shake support added with scalars for each plane
- Fixed engine popping
- Gear physics added. Gear is affected by weight and air forces. Gear locks up and down.
- Hydraulic hand pumps (spitI gear handle is a hyd hand pump) now uses pressure physics
- Improved gear system damage modeling. Gear locks can break and gear can jam
- Improved flaps damage modeling.






Core Update v.1.0 to v.1.1

Video Overview:



Below is a list of changes coming in this update. Below are not all changes, but those listed while this core update was in testing. Since we are in parallel development with other aircraft, some changes effect the existing Spitfire I/II on the market today, others do not, so we categorized them as such below for your convenience.

Changes affecting Spitfire MKI/II
- While Accu-Sim ignores the default FSX electrical system, we changed the FSX electrical system from 24v to 12v in aircraft.cfg for continuity
- New engine oil and coolant algorithms representing internal mass inertia and coolant flow passing through a large engine. This means the engine can be quicker to heat up and slower to cool down.
- MkI flaps warning says 160 MPH instead of 140 MPH
- MkII cockpit: flaps warning says 160 IAS; maximum speeds converted to MPH
- New trigger for the MkI
- Aircraft.cfg atc_type=Supermarine
- Added additional physics to airframe vibrations. Vibrations are both more precise and dynamic
- Slightly lowered shake effect on our manifold pressure gauge
- Engine fire logic re-coded. Engine fires start based on high temps, eng cyinder condition, and engine oil system condition (representing oil outside of engine)
- Engine oil consumption increased. Can be as high as 4gph with a very worn engine (past TBO), not including leaks
- Brighter, weathered windshield screws to match existing worn cockpit
- RPM value that was feeding to FSX was reversed on the 2-speed prop. Accu-Sim was compensating for this, so changes should not be very noticeable, but working numbers are more consistent
- Engine remembers if it was running before exit
- Elevator and rudder trimwheels animation: 4 turns for full work range
- Fuel tanks on spit upgraded to new standard, should scale accurately with pitch changes
- Fixed gear collapsing bug
- Radiator flap positions changed to: 1. Closed/guns warming, 2. Normal flight, 3. 1/4 open, 4. 2/4 open, 5. 3/4 open. 6. Fully open
- New, less bluish glass
- Fuel gauges tooltips don't read any value when buttons are not pressed
- Runway thumps
- Removed A2A_Spit.dll
- Fixed error with low RPM combustion firing
- New physical fuel pressure physics. You can see this at very low RPM (when engine is cranking or winding down)
- New supercharger code module (supports multiple stages, draw, efficiency, and efficiency changes with different air pressures). Simply allows Accu-Sim to better simulate supercharged performance in all air conditions
- Removed files from aircraft panel folder that were moved to central folder
- Excessive bearing wear on startup and shutdown fixed
- Adjusted fuel delivery impact on engine combustion
- Smoother prop sounds for startup and shutdown when canopy is opened
- New "plastic" seat for the MkII
- Coolant overtemp relief valve blows roughly 1/10 gal per min
- Some texture and bump improvements
- Come copper internal components replaced with brass
- Removed default fuel pump sounds from spitfire sound.cfg's

Multiplayer
- Multiplayer propeller visibility and rotation issue
- Landing flaps animation should be visible in MP
- Possible fix for the trolley and wheel chocks MP visibility issue.
- Disabled and renamed cartridge starter visual effect due to multiplayer error



Changes only affecting other aircraft in development
- Electrical system standardized to support all aircraft
- Electrical prop system added (P-40 Curtiss Electric prop)
- Electric prop does not draw electricity when at the stops
- Added drag system to P-40
- Fixed an issue with the wobble pump and fuel pressure
- Electrical voltage outputs set for each aircraft
- Initial P-51 cockpit sounds added (P-51)
- Fuel sloshing physics
- RPMGaugeSwayPhysics customizable for each aircraft
- Completed hydraulic system including actuator support for drooping gear doors in P-51
- New ground bump physics added
- RAM air and Carb heat systems implemented
- Engine piston suction bug fixed
- Oil dilution support added
- Inertia starter support (P-40)
- Manifold Pressure Regulator support (P-51)
- Oil cooler flaps (P-51)
- Automatic coolant and oil cooling systems (P-51)
- Electric fuel primer support (P-51)
- Hydraulic and Pneumatic brakes, flaps, and gear system support
- Initial turbo-jet engine physics modeling and sound module added (F-104)
- Manual wobble pump support (P-40)


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DOWNLOAD
http://a2asimulations.com/public/update ... e_v1.2.zip
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


NOTE:
Just run this over any accusim spit installation. The core update v.1.1 is not necessary to install first.

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:39 pm
Posts: 1919
Location: Northern New Jersey
Very very good work Scott!

One thing I noticed regarding the landing gear now is that in the Mk1 I press G to select "raise" or "lower" and Ctrl-G to maually pump the gear (as before), but now I only have to press Ctrl-G one time, and it automatically hand pumps for me, and pressing Ctrl-G is necessary to stop it hand pumping, even when the gear has finished moving. My first flight I landed and kept hearing a progressively higher pitched squeak as the hand crank was still trying to move itself.

This doesn't appear to me to be a bug, but a new way to use the landing gear.... I like it!

Thanks!

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Great Falls Army Air Base, Montana
So, if I decided to buy the P-40 w/ AccuSim tonight, and if I didn't have either of the Spitfire updates installed, would the P-40's AccuSim pack automatically update the core AccuSim and therefore the Spitfire's AccuSim to the refinements listed in the 1.2 patch?

I'm just curious and I'm sure this question will come up eventually anyhow.

_________________
I like Thunderbolts! (Click on "Photos")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:31 pm 
Offline
VIP Partner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:27 am
Posts: 4419
JoeS475 wrote:
SNIP.....This doesn't appear to me to be a bug, but a new way to use the landing gear.... I like it!

If one wishes to utilize the older method, they can grab the pump with the mouse. When they unclick, it will stop pumping.

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:39 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 895
Location: Poland
CodyValkyrie wrote:
JoeS475 wrote:
SNIP.....This doesn't appear to me to be a bug, but a new way to use the landing gear.... I like it!

If one wishes to utilize the older method, they can grab the pump with the mouse. When they unclick, it will stop pumping.


But normally you don't need to look at the pump to use it, i think that pressing ctrl+g was better, and you could do it more economicly or less, depending on your knowladge, now everything is automatic, even spitfire's hand pumps, ehh im too old. :mrgreen:


Last edited by Caldemeyn on Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:45 pm 
Offline
VIP Partner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:27 am
Posts: 4419
Caldemeyn wrote:

But normally you don't need to look at the pump to use it, i think that pressing shift+g was better, and you could do it more economicly or less, depending on your knowladge, now everything is automatic, even spitfire's hand pumps, ehh im too old. :mrgreen:


You only have to look at it once and hold the mouse button. It's a compromise that was asked for.

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:39 pm
Posts: 1919
Location: Northern New Jersey
Caldemeyn wrote:
CodyValkyrie wrote:
JoeS475 wrote:
SNIP.....This doesn't appear to me to be a bug, but a new way to use the landing gear.... I like it!

If one wishes to utilize the older method, they can grab the pump with the mouse. When they unclick, it will stop pumping.


But normally you don't need to look at the pump to use it, i think that pressing shift+g was better, and you could do it more economicly or less, depending on your knowladge, now everything is automatic, even spitfire's hand pumps, ehh im too old. :mrgreen:


Caldemeyn, I don't see any reason you can't just keep using Ctrl-G, just keep in mind that you are stopping and starting it. It'll take a little longer, but still works (that's how I noticed the new hydraulics lol)

Joe

_________________
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 895
Location: Poland
Caldemeyn, I don't see any reason you can't just keep using Ctrl-G, just keep in mind that you are stopping and starting it. It'll take a little longer, but still works (that's how I noticed the new hydraulics lol)



Well maybe it would be a good idea 8) , but not as good as in the old days.. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:58 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:00 am
Posts: 19
Finally the spit got a wobbling artificial horizon on startup! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:33 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15041
Location: USA
Skycat,

All Core Accu-Sim airplanes (Currently the Spitfire and P-40) will be updated by way of a single Accu-Sim Core Update. The Core Update detects what core Accu-Sim aircraft you have installed and updates them.

So, regardless of what aircraft you install first, you always want to run the Core Update LAST.

So the installation order is always:

- Aircraft
- Accu-Sim Pack
- Core Update

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:24 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:18 pm
Posts: 39
Location: ojai,california
just a note(dont know if anybody else noticed this) all my logged hours for my spit were reset to zero,is that normal,not a big deal just kinda sucks cause i had almost a 100 hours,lol.thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:29 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:29 am
Posts: 347
Location: Orbanistan
04rc51 wrote:
just a note(dont know if anybody else noticed this) all my logged hours for my spit were reset to zero,is that normal,not a big deal just kinda sucks cause i had almost a 100 hours,lol.thanks


me too..

but i get over it because this update, or the earlier means a new plane for me:)

i really like the way that if i cut the power, the engine is not flooded with fuel mandatory as does it before... just quit
(at last a perfectly tuned carb) -> like a two stroke:))

for me the constanly moving handpump is a bit step back... i used the joy2 button... it was realistic for me
anyway, that if my tiny finger tired a bit with the pumping, it was more "interact"

and lastly an old bug: the volume selector still show 0% at full
and the second: the headphone shortcut key doesn't work.. i tryed severel keys to not interfere with fsx or fsuipc, but the result is that if i press this shortcut key in the (shift+3)menu the headphone blink 1sec than turn off again...and no change in sound volume,with mouse click it working


i test for more, than i wrote my opinion if i find anything else...

another thing!!!!!

after the headphone shortcut attemt, i found that the emergency gear lower CO2 contanier should have the same "key" care -> it would be as neccesary as the headphone (using wise)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:09 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 931
Location: Germany
I bought the P-40 with accusim and got the core update this way.

I also lost the hours in maintenance hangar. I keep different .dat-files for the different paints.
I was on a round trip just to see how long engine and systems last.

Is there a chance to "get the hours back"?

Best regards
Jens

_________________
"Give me a ping, Vasili. One ping only, please."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:30 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:19 pm
Posts: 478
Question, did the Accu-Sim Core Update v.1.2 change the ui_manufacturer=Supermarine... to... ui_manufacturer= A2A Supermarine ? Or was it the installation of the new P-40?

Only the Spitfire and the new P-40 were affected, the B-377, P-47, and B-17 were OK.

Easily edited back to ui_manufacturer=Supermarine and/or ui_manufacturer=Curtiss :lol:
I'll keep the: ui_createdby="A2A Simulations Inc." as it is.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:19 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:08 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Madison, WI
Does this mean that I can get rid of my 1.1 update zip file backup? As I understand it, the 1.2 update does not need 1.1 installed. Correct?

Bill


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group