The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:03 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:30 am
Posts: 10
Hi,
Just a quick question. Does anybody know if there are cockpit shadows on the Piper Cub?
Thanks,
Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:57 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:52 am
Posts: 508
Location: Flordia
Absolutely beautiful shadows if using P3DV2.4!

Not sure in FSX but it would be only with DX10 and Steve's DX10 fixer.

_________________
Lyn

Jetline Systems,P3DV4,Win10 64 Pro, I7-7700@4.8, EVGA GTX1080Ti 11Gb, 32Gb Memory 2800MHz,

Image ImageImage Image
Image[Image

In memory of my fallen Brothers in Arms in Viet Nam - may they Rest in Peace.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:05 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1505
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
DX10's the answer for FSX cockpit shadows. Convert now and be saved! :D

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:41 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 415
Yes, DX10. New life for FSX. I wish I would've switched sooner.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:40 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:56 pm
Posts: 251
I have DX10 and the fixer and there is no cockpit shadows.
Loaded up the default model and it has lovely shadows.
Is there a setting to switch on?
Allan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 4:43 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27246
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello Allan,

yes in dx10 fixer theres lots of options.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:49 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:56 pm
Posts: 251
Thanks
Just odd that I have shadows in the other 3 A2A aircraft I have.
Do others see effects in there cockpits on the Cub?
Allan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:32 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1505
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
aprewett wrote:
Thanks
Just odd that I have shadows in the other 3 A2A aircraft I have.
Do others see effects in their cockpits on the Cub?
Allan


Let's see, how do I say this?

Yes.

You might try using the DX10Toolbox.exe. Click on it, choose Aircraft, choose Turn On VC shadows, then navigate to the A2A_PiperJ3\model\click on PiperJ3 interior.mdl
A dialogue box comes up saying 'Complete'.

Having said all that I was under the impression that V2.6 of the fixer made that unnecessary. Perhaps you need to update it?

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:36 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:56 pm
Posts: 251
Sorry, where do I find the toolbox?
I did a quick search but nothing.
I have 2.6.
Allan
Sorry mean while I kept searching and think I found it.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:16 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1505
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
aprewett wrote:
Sorry, where do I find the toolbox?
I did a quick search but nothing.
I have 2.6.
Allan
Sorry mean while I kept searching and think I found it.
Thanks


Well done. One other thing that may be relevant, in FSX, have you got 'Aircraft casts shadows on itself' checked? That's imperative.

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:16 am
Posts: 235
Location: Torun, Poland
With the Fixer, I have nice shadows on the cockpit walls, etc. in the Cub, but not on the panel (shadows actually show on the dials, but not on the panel itself). Is it the same for you?

Tym


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1505
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
That's exactly what I have. I never noticed there was no shadows on the panel itself. Strange. :)

Image

Image

Image

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:01 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:09 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Syracuse NY
wonder if someone could give me the site to download dx10 fixer? Also is it payware?

_________________
Image Image Image ImageImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 1:50 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1719
Hi flashg50,

Yeh, payware unless you want to try and download and configure all the shaders on your own!
Used to be available on FlightSimStore but appears to be available now only from a link off his wordpress site: https://stevesfsxanalysis.wordpress.com ... -purchase/ it is worth the purchase, by the way!

JP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cockpit shadows
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:12 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:16 am
Posts: 235
Location: Torun, Poland
Ron Attwood wrote:
That's exactly what I have. I never noticed there was no shadows on the panel itself. Strange. :)


Thanks for confirming that, I was wondering if my installation had gone haywire... Not a major thing at any rate, but it'd be interesting to know if this can be fixed without tinkering with the model. :wink:

Tym


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group