The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:35 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:53 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
I've seen videos of people skimming the water with the tundra tyres on the Piper Cub, and apparently it's possible to do with the A2A variant. But whenever I try it as soon as the tyre touches the water I instantly get the FSX "Crash!" message.

Is there some setting I need to adjust to make this possible?

Also I heard it rumoured that it was possible to get more realisitc crashes but adjusting some setting in and aircraft.cfg file. Is this true?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:42 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28070
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

double check your sim settings are that as laid out in the manual and also that you are all updated after running the latest Accu-sim updater.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:18 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks Lewis. Finding and running the Accusim updater fixed it.

I only bought and installed the Cub this weekend, so it's not great that versions being sold now are out of date at point of sale. The manual also makes no mention of needing to update it.

The updater also states that if any of your aircraft.cfg files are tweaked it will back them up, but it doesn't, it just overwrites them, so I had to manually reinstall a load of custom skins I had.

Nice product though. Just a couple of wrinkles in the installation procedure and instructions that could use ironing out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1842
Hi Neutrino, actually having an all-in-one updater is very convenient, especially once you start collecting other A2A aircraft. :D

In your FSX\A2A\J3 folder there should be a folder labeled "backup", inside that folder is a copy of your .cfg before the latest update. Copy and paste and all your skins are visible again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group