The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CH Pro Pedals Bad
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:56 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:45 pm
Posts: 43
If you have CH Pro Pedals that are not working maybe I can Help you solve the problem. I have 3 sets of these pedals. and out of 3 only one set worked. Now here is what I went through. I took the CD that comes with the pedals and loaded it into windows. I have windows 7. I don't think it matters what windows you have. Got it loaded. Than Took the CD out went back to desktop and windows 7 its a little different to get to the controller menu, I go to start than games ,tools, input Devices. than it shows joystick ok CH Pro Pedals usb ok. so ether double click on Pro Pedals or the advance button. Now you got your test or calibrate picture. Now here Is how mine tested. when you pushed down on the right brake the cross hair up in the left corner of the box moved from top to bottom. Than I pushed down on the left brake pedal and the cross hair did not move at all. If working should move from left to right. Than when you push down on the right rudder pedal the bar chart will move from left to right. Push down the left rudder pedal the bar graph will move from right to left. So everything checked out except the left brake pedal. So I went in to the calibrate menu in the fsx and must have changed the settings a million times. going back to the test page only to find out that doesn't work. So than I went back to desk top and loaded the CD and Loaded the CH installer. I again worked at changing the systems. than would go back to the test page only to find out that doesn't work. Sill no left Brake. so after over a week of trying I gave up and called the CH pro pedals Factory. I really lucked out it just happened to be the fellow I got a hold of was the fellow who reworks these pedals. So I told him all the information that the pedals were doing. and re setting all the sensitivity / nole settings. he told me that setting do no good. Its inside what the problems are. So I asked him if I could send the pedals in for a rework. He said Sorry we don't do reworks any longer. I would have to find some one else that would do this or Do it yourself. Im sorry have to go to CH Pro Pedals Bad 1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CH Pro Pedals Bad
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 3:03 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:45 am
Posts: 1182
Location: Hillcrest, kwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
I do not have pedals, but had a thought. If you have the paid version of FSUIPC then you might try to configure them there.

I had to do this in Win 8.1 as I was constantly loosing my controller. Having set it up in FSUIPC my problems were solved.

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9500 mit Tapatalk

_________________
Regards
Eberhard Haberkorn

Image
Beta tester ~ REX Beta team • TongassX • Aerosoft BerlinX / AntarcticaX | BostonX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CH Pro Pedals Bad
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:13 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:45 pm
Posts: 43
ebo wrote:
I do not have pedals, but had a thought. If you have the paid version of FSUIPC then you might try to configure them there.

I had to do this in Win 8.1 as I was constantly loosing my controller. Having set it up in FSUIPC my problems were solved.

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9500 mit Tapatalk

Hi No I dont' have any of that. just the CH pro Pedals hooked up to FSX and they work very well. Thanks for your advice Greatengine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CH Pro Pedals Bad
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:33 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:49 pm
Posts: 334
Location: Morgantown, WV
Hi greatengine,

This is the one and only problem I have had with my CH gear, after some 12 or 13 years with it.
The problem is, there are thin wires that connect the toe brakes, and they move back and forth, bending every time you move the pedals.
Over time, the thin wire will break after so many bends.

If you are handy with a soldering iron, you can open the pedals, and reconnect where the wire broke easily enough.
Just two warnings, disassemble carefully, as there are small bearings and such which will try to fall all over, so some care is needed to keep everything in order so you can reassemble it without too much confusion.
Second warning, use rosin core solder only for electronic soldering (acid core will lead to corrosion and bad connection later).
When soldering, heat the wire, and not the solder, allow the solder to be melted indirectly by touching the heated wire. A clean and well tinned iron point will work best.
Otherwise you will get a cold (lumpy looking) solder connection, which will give you a bad electrical connection.

Anyway, this is really not a difficult fix, just heed the advice I mention above and you should be fine.

Regards,
Dave

Edit - I read your following posts, after having already replied to this one.
I see you have already fixed the problem I described, and gave very nice instructions for the next member who encounters this. :D Glad you got it sorted.

_________________
Ron Attwood wrote:
David, you'd be useless on Twitter. Too reasonable by half. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CH Pro Pedals Bad
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:26 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:45 pm
Posts: 43
aonyn wrote:
Hi greatengine,

This is the one and only problem I have had with my CH gear, after some 12 or 13 years with it.
The problem is, there are thin wires that connect the toe brakes, and they move back and forth, bending every time you move the pedals.
Over time, the thin wire will break after so many bends.

If you are handy with a soldering iron, you can open the pedals, and reconnect where the wire broke easily enough.
Just two warnings, disassemble carefully, as there are small bearings and such which will try to fall all over, so some care is needed to keep everything in order so you can reassemble it without too much confusion.
Second warning, use rosin core solder only for electronic soldering (acid core will lead to corrosion and bad connection later).
When soldering, heat the wire, and not the solder, allow the solder to be melted indirectly by touching the heated wire. A clean and well tinned iron point will work best.
Otherwise you will get a cold (lumpy looking) solder connection, which will give you a bad electrical connection.

Anyway, this is really not a difficult fix, just heed the advice I mention above and you should be fine.

Regards,
Dave

Edit - I read your following posts, after having already replied to this one.
I see you have already fixed the problem I described, and gave very nice instructions for the next member who encounters this. :D Glad you got it sorted.

Thanks Dave That was some great expert advice you also mentioned Listen to Dave he Is Right. Thanks Greatengine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group