Help with latest accu-sim aircraft for the uninitiated?

Find or share aviation knowledge
new reply
lowew79
Airman First Class

Help with latest accu-sim aircraft for the uninitiated?

Post by lowew79 »

Hi, I love the A2A product lines. The Accu-Sim planes are wonderful. However as a non real pilot I wonder about the types of aircraft and their performance?

I know the C-172 is a trainer, so its relatively slow.

Is the Cherokee 180 a trainer as well? I saw in the video it's cruise speed is 150.

If the 180 can cruise at 150, what is the cruise speed for the (I assume) faster and more powerful C-182. I know it's considered a high performance plane, but...

...How does the 182 compare to the Comanche 250? It is the only one with retractable gear right? Is it the fastest (not counting the t-6)? Does it have the furthest range and highest cruise as well? What is it's cruise speed and altitude?
If I were shopping for a real aircraft and was looking for highest performance in cruise speed, range and altitude, would the 250 be the one that you would "sell" me? I'm not including the T-6, just the GA aircraft in the lineup.

I already own the 182 and i love, I was just curious about the different niches the planes fill in the real world. Thanks

I know i could have googled this myself but I thought someone might enjoy educating me.

AKar
A2A Master Mechanic

Re: Help with latest accu-sim aircraft for the uninitiated?

Post by AKar »

Well, a short answer.

Nothing in particular makes any of these airplanes "trainers", and being "trainer" doesn't make the airplane slow, albeit many popular training airplanes are modestly tame. The 172 is of course a popular one, but it also makes a fine entry level touring airplane. The Cherokee is also quite popular training airplane, and the 180 hp model is slightly faster: the 172 does some 140 mph or so, and the Cherokee might give you some 150 mph or thereabouts.