Flying the ILS - any good advice?

Find or share aviation knowledge
Nick - A2A
A2A Captain

Flying the ILS - any good advice?

Post by Nick - A2A »

Hello All,

Since the release of A2A’s excellent Cessna 182, I’ve decided to make a concerted effort to improve my instrument flying skills. I’ve no real-world aviation experience, but since early FS5.1 days I’ve been interested in ‘old school’ VOR-to-VOR and ILS type flying and I hope I’m reasonably familiar with the principals. However, please forgive me if I come at this in a rather confused way! :wink:

In practice, I can do a reasonably good job of hand-flying set headings and altitudes under IMC. I can also fly visual approaches and landings without too much drama. However, it’s when I try and combine the two that things often go awry. I’ve real quite a bit of guidance such as extracts from the FAA Instrument Flying Handbook and threads such as this one on PPRUNE where rather varied advice seems to be offered.

In general, the main points I’ve taken on board when flying the ILS are ‘don’t chase the needles – fly a heading and V/S’ and ‘scan like crazy’! To be fair this usually works pretty well until the last 300-400ft before minimums. At this point I find myself tending to overcorrect and some fairly extreme attitudes can result. (I should add that in FSX I tend to set-up a rather artificial scenario where I need to fly right down to about 220ft AGL on instruments before I get any visual reference with the runway environment.) Anyway, here’s an initial question aimed squarely at those real-world instrument-rated pilots on the forum:-

• Is the lack of physical sensation in the sim a help or an obstacle in IMC flight? (I realise there’s not much I can do about this, but just interested to hear opinions.)